pteexamprep

PTE score for University of Calgary

University of Calgary asks for a PTE Academic score of 60 overall for bachelor's degrees, 59 overall for master's degrees and 65 to 80 overall for specific programmes such as Education (Werklund School of Education, undergraduate) and Nursing (Faculty of Nursing, undergraduate). These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 4 sourced requirements
  • Calgary, Canada

UCalgary PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallEach skill at leastSource
Bachelor'sAll undergraduate programmes other than Education and Nursing (excludes Law, Graduate Studies, Medicine and Veterinary Medicine, which set their own rules)Overall score only; no per-skill minimum is stated for this group.60-calendar.ucalgary.caread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sFaculty of Graduate Studies minimum for master's and doctoral applicants whose primary language is not English; some programmes require higherFaculty minimum only. The page states some programmes require higher scores than this minimum; check the programme listing.59-calendar.ucalgary.caread 13 Oct 2026
Education (Werklund School of Education, undergraduate)Applicants to the Werklund School of Education8075calendar.ucalgary.caread 13 Oct 2026
Nursing (Faculty of Nursing, undergraduate)Applicants to the Faculty of Nursing6565calendar.ucalgary.caread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Bachelor's (60 overall)
“PTE Academic | 80 with no skills scores below 75 | 65 with no skills scores below 65 | 60”

From calendar.ucalgary.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (59 overall)
“By taking the Academic version of the Pearson Test of English (PTE) and obtaining a minimum score of 59*.”

From calendar.ucalgary.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Education (Werklund School of Education, undergraduate) (80 overall, no skill below 75)
“PTE Academic | 80 with no skills scores below 75 | 65 with no skills scores below 65 | 60”

From calendar.ucalgary.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Nursing (Faculty of Nursing, undergraduate) (65 overall, no skill below 65)
“PTE Academic | 80 with no skills scores below 75 | 65 with no skills scores below 65 | 60”

From calendar.ucalgary.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet UCalgary's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which UCalgary rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways UCalgary says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • Undergraduate: English proficiency can be met without a test by at least three years of full-time secondary study in English at a school in an exempt country or accredited for Canadian, American or British curricula. The calendar also lists other routes; check the page.

    Official wording
    “Successful completion of at least three years of formal, full-time study in English at a secondary school that meets one of the following requirements”

    From calendar.ucalgary.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Graduate: the department or graduate programme may waive the test requirement, for example for a bachelor's degree from a recognized institution taught in English; contact the programme.

    Official wording
    “may waive the English proficiency-testing requirement in certain circumstances, such as the possession of a baccalaureate degree”

    From calendar.ucalgary.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Graduate conditional admission: some programmes may offer admission conditional on completing the University of Calgary Academic Communication Certificate (ACC) with at least B+ in each course before the programme starts.

    Official wording
    “a student may be offered admission conditional on successful completion of the Academic Communication Certificate (ACC)”

    From calendar.ucalgary.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • Undergraduate PTE Academic: 60 for most programmes, 65 (no skill below 65) for Nursing, 80 (no skill below 75) for Education.
  • Graduate Studies faculty minimum is 59 for PTE Academic, but programmes may set higher scores.
  • Graduate test scores are valid for two years from the test date.

What to practise for UCalgary

Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 75, set by the Education (Werklund School of Education, undergraduate) row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot stated on the pages we checked
Score validity noted2 years

Both calendar pages list the Academic version of PTE. Neither page mentions PTE Academic UKVI, PTE Core or PTE Academic Online. Law, Cumming School of Medicine (most programmes) and Veterinary Medicine set their own English requirements and were not fetched; individual graduate programmes may set higher scores than the Faculty minimum.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what UCalgary's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with University of Calgary or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All Canada universities

Visa and route guides for Canada

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.