PTE score for Auckland University of Technology
Auckland University of Technology asks for a PTE Academic score of 42 to 50 overall for diploma programmes (depending on the course), 50 overall (no skill below 42) for bachelor's degrees and 58 overall (no skill below 50) for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 5 sourced requirements
- Auckland, New Zealand
AUT PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Each skill at least | Listening | Reading | Speaking | Writing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DiplomaDiploma in Applied Science, Culinary Arts, Japanese, Pâtisserie, Sport and Recreation | 42 | 35 | - | - | - | - | aut.ac.nzread 13 Oct 2026 |
| DiplomaDiploma in Arts, Business, Computer and Information Sciences, Design, Engineering, Visual ArtsWriting 42 or higher; other communicative skills 35 or higher. | 42 | - | 35 | 35 | 35 | 42 | aut.ac.nzread 13 Oct 2026 |
| DiplomaDiploma in Paramedicine | 50 | 42 | - | - | - | - | aut.ac.nzread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor'sBachelor's degrees (general table; some degrees have higher requirements)Some AUT bachelor's degrees have higher English requirements than this table. | 50 | 42 | - | - | - | - | aut.ac.nzread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sMaster's degrees (general table; some programmes have higher requirements)Some AUT programmes have higher English requirements than this table. | 58 | 50 | - | - | - | - | aut.ac.nzread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Diploma (42 overall, no skill below 35)
“Overall score of 42 with other skills no lower than 35”
From aut.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Diploma (42 overall, Listening 35, Reading 35, Speaking 35, Writing 42)
“Overall score of 42 with 42 or higher in writing and all other communicative skills 35 or higher”
From aut.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Diploma (50 overall, no skill below 42)
“Overall score of 50 with all other scores no lower than 42”
From aut.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor's (50 overall, no skill below 42)
“Overall score of 50 with all other scores no lower than 42”
From aut.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (58 overall, no skill below 50)
“Overall score of 58 with all other scores no lower than 50”
From aut.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet AUT's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which AUT rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways AUT says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Bachelor's applicants can use an academic qualification completed in a country where the main language of instruction and assessment was English, with evidence it was taught and assessed in English and at an appropriate level. No India-specific rule is stated on the page.
Official wording
“Evidence is required that the qualification was taught and assessed in English”
From aut.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Master's applicants can likewise use an academic qualification taught and assessed in English, with evidence and at an appropriate level.
Official wording
“Evidence is required that the qualification was taught and assessed in English”
From aut.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Bachelor's pathway: achieve B overall with all skills C+ or higher in the AUT Academic English (AUT AE) course; some programmes do not accept AUT AE.
Master's pathway: achieve B+ overall with all skills B or higher in AUT AE; some programmes do not accept AUT AE.
Good to know before you apply
- Requirements must be met in a single sitting of the test.
- PTE Academic Online is not accepted.
What to practise for AUT
Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 50, set by the Master's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
PTE Academic Online is not accepted. Each AUT page notes some programmes have higher English requirements than the general table; those programme lists were not on the pages read. Doctoral, honours and postgraduate certificate/diploma pages were not read.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what AUT's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- English language requirements for bachelor's degrees (aut.ac.nz)
- English language requirements for master's degrees (aut.ac.nz)
- English language requirements for diplomas (aut.ac.nz)
Independent study site, not affiliated with Auckland University of Technology or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in New Zealand
- University of AucklandFrom 50 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of WaikatoFrom 42 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Massey UniversityFrom 38 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of CanterburyFrom 42 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of OtagoFrom 50 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for New Zealand
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.