pteexamprep

PTE score for University of Aberdeen

University of Aberdeen asks for a PTE Academic score of 59 overall and 59 in each skill for bachelor's degrees, 62 overall and 59 in each skill for master's degrees and 62 to 70 overall for specific programmes such as Medicine (MBChB) and Postgraduate Higher programmes. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 4 sourced requirements
  • Aberdeen, UK

Aberdeen PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallListeningReadingSpeakingWritingSource
Bachelor'sStandard undergraduate programmes (all except Medicine MBChB)Page lists 59 or above in each skill and overall.5959595959abdn.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sPostgraduate Standard: Schools of Biological Sciences; Engineering; Geosciences (except two programmes); Natural and Computing Sciences; Psychology6259595959abdn.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Medicine (MBChB)Undergraduate MedicineMedicine (MBChB) figures as listed on the undergraduate page.7059597059abdn.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Postgraduate Higher programmesSchools of Business; Divinity, History, Philosophy and Art History; Education; Language, Literature, Music and Visual Culture; Law; Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition; Social Sciences; plus MSc Global Energy Transition Enterprise Management and MSc Integrated Petroleum GeoscienceHigher band lists the same PTE Academic figures as Standard. Higher applies to the listed Schools and to two Geosciences MSc programmes.6259595959abdn.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Bachelor's (59 overall, 59 in each skill)
“Speaking - 59 or above Writing - 59 or above Overall - 59 or above”

From abdn.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (62 overall, 59 in each skill)
“Writing - 59 or above Overall - 62 or above”

From abdn.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Medicine (MBChB) (70 overall, Listening 59, Reading 59, Speaking 70, Writing 59)
“Speaking - 70 or above Writing - 59 or above Overall - 70 or above”

From abdn.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Postgraduate Higher programmes (62 overall, 59 in each skill)
“Speaking - 59 or above Writing - 59 or above Overall - 62 or above”

From abdn.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Aberdeen's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which Aberdeen rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways Aberdeen says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • No additional English evidence needed for nationals of the University's listed recognised English-speaking countries (see the page for the full list).

    Official wording
    “You do not need to provide additional evidence of English language proficiency if you are: A national of one of our recognised English-speaking countries”

    From abdn.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • An approved high or senior school qualification obtained within the last 10 years may satisfy the requirement; see the University's list of accepted qualifications, grades and countries.

    Official wording
    “Please note that the qualification must have been obtained within the last 10 years.”

    From abdn.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • A degree taught and assessed entirely in English at an approved university can satisfy the requirement, with an official medium of instruction (MOI) letter.

    Official wording
    “an official medium of instruction (MOI) letter from your university confirming that your degree was/is taught, assessed, and examined fully in English.”

    From abdn.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • University of Aberdeen Academic English pre-sessional programmes: a Pass meets the requirement for both undergraduate and postgraduate entry; result valid one year.

    Official wording
    “Postgraduate Standard: Pass Postgraduate Higher: Pass Valid for one year.”

    From abdn.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • PTE Academic Online is not accepted.
  • Certification must be within two years before course start unless otherwise stated.
  • Undergraduate: 59 in every skill and overall; Medicine (MBChB) needs overall 70 and Speaking 70.
  • Postgraduate: 62 overall with 59 in every skill, for both the Standard and Higher bands.

What to practise for Aberdeen

The highest single-skill minimum on this page is 70 in Speaking, set by the Medicine (MBChB) row. Practise that first if it is also near your weakest score.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot accepted
Score validity noted2 years

PTE Academic accepted; pages state 'Online test not accepted.' PTE Academic UKVI is not named on either page. Research degrees (PhD) not covered by these two pages. How scores are sent is not stated for PTE. Validity: certification within two years before commencement unless otherwise stated.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Aberdeen's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with University of Aberdeen or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All United Kingdom universities

Visa and route guides for United Kingdom

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.