pteexamprep

PTE score for University of Liverpool

University of Liverpool asks for a PTE Academic score of 59 overall (no skill below 59) for bachelor's degrees and 61 overall (no skill below 59) for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 2 sourced requirements
  • Liverpool, UK

Liverpool PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallEach skill at leastSource
Bachelor'sCivil Engineering MEng course page (IELTS 6.0 overall, no component below 5.5). Other undergraduate courses may differ; check each course page.Course-specific. The university states most undergraduate courses fall in one of three IELTS tiers (6.0, 6.5, 7.0 overall), so other courses can need higher PTE figures, which are not captured here.5959liverpool.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sComputer Science MSc course page (IELTS 6.5 overall, no component below 5.5). Other master's courses may differ; check each course page.Course-specific. The university states most master's courses fall in one of three IELTS tiers, and a few (for example Investigative and Forensic Psychology) are higher; those PTE figures are not captured here.6159liverpool.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Bachelor's (59 overall, no skill below 59)
“Pearson PTE Academic | 59 overall, with no component below 59”

From liverpool.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (61 overall, no skill below 59)
“Pearson PTE Academic | 61 overall, with no component below 59”

From liverpool.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Liverpool's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which Liverpool rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways Liverpool says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • Applicants who cannot meet the English requirement can take a University of Liverpool Pre-sessional English course to reach the required level for undergraduate or master's entry.

    Official wording
    “If you don't meet the minimum English language requirements for your preferred course, you can complete one of our Pre-sessional English courses.”

    From liverpool.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Nationals of majority English speaking countries do not usually have to evidence English ability.

    Official wording
    “If you're from a majority native English speaking country, you won't usually have to evidence your English language ability.”

    From liverpool.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • The Computer Science MSc page lists Indian Standard XII English marks as an accepted alternative to a test.

    Official wording
    “National Curriculum (CBSE/ISC) - 75% and above in English. Accepted State Boards - 80% and above in English.”

    From liverpool.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • PTE Academic is on the accepted-tests list for undergraduate and master's courses, but figures are set per course page.
  • Two example courses: Civil Engineering MEng 59 overall with no component below 59; Computer Science MSc 61 overall with no component below 59.
  • Pre-sessional English courses are offered for applicants who fall short.

What to practise for Liverpool

Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 59, set by the Bachelor's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot accepted

Pearson PTE Academic is listed as accepted for undergraduate and master's study. The general test page gives no PTE figures: requirements are set per course on each course page and vary by course. The only figures captured here come from two example course pages (Civil Engineering MEng, Computer Science MSc). The general page lists IELTS bands only, with no PTE mapping, so no band-to-PTE table exists to record. UKVI variant, PTE Academic Online and Home Edition rules were not stated on the pages read. Research-degree PTE figures are not on the general page. Higher-requirement programmes are not captured.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Liverpool's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with University of Liverpool or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All United Kingdom universities

Visa and route guides for United Kingdom

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.