PTE score for Macquarie University
Macquarie University asks for a PTE Academic score of 46 overall and Listening 39, Reading 41, Speaking 38, Writing 40 for foundation programmes, 52 overall and Listening 46, Reading 47, Speaking 46, Writing 50 for diploma programmes, 60 overall and Listening 50, Reading 51, Speaking 54, Writing 55 for bachelor's degrees, 60 overall and Listening 50, Reading 51, Speaking 54, Writing 55 for master's degrees and 68 to 76 overall for specific programmes such as All initial teacher education courses and MBA and related courses. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 8 sourced requirements
- Sydney, Australia
Macquarie PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Listening | Reading | Speaking | Writing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FoundationFunctional English: Macquarie University College Standard Foundation ProgramApplies to tests from 1 March 2026 (Macquarie admission policy schedule). The older schedule (until 28 February 2026) listed different figures; the separate course-specific Table E page still shows older-style figures for some courses, so confirm the course page. Skill order on the source is Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking. | 46 | 39 | 41 | 38 | 40 | policies.mq.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| DiplomaVocational English: Macquarie University College Intensive Program, Diploma, Masters Qualifying ProgramApplies to tests from 1 March 2026 (Macquarie admission policy schedule). The older schedule (until 28 February 2026) listed different figures; the separate course-specific Table E page still shows older-style figures for some courses, so confirm the course page. Skill order on the source is Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking. | 52 | 46 | 47 | 46 | 50 | policies.mq.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor'sCompetent English: most undergraduate coursesApplies to tests from 1 March 2026 (Macquarie admission policy schedule). The older schedule (until 28 February 2026) listed different figures; the separate course-specific Table E page still shows older-style figures for some courses, so confirm the course page. Skill order on the source is Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking. | 60 | 50 | 51 | 54 | 55 | policies.mq.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sCompetent English: most postgraduate coursework coursesApplies to tests from 1 March 2026 (Macquarie admission policy schedule). The older schedule (until 28 February 2026) listed different figures; the separate course-specific Table E page still shows older-style figures for some courses, so confirm the course page. Skill order on the source is Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking. | 60 | 50 | 51 | 54 | 55 | policies.mq.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| All initial teacher education coursesAdvanced EnglishApplies to tests from 1 March 2026 (Macquarie admission policy schedule). The older schedule (until 28 February 2026) listed different figures; the separate course-specific Table E page still shows older-style figures for some courses, so confirm the course page. Skill order on the source is Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking. | 76 | 72 | 66 | 88 | 73 | policies.mq.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| MBA and related coursesProficient EnglishApplies to tests from 1 March 2026 (Macquarie admission policy schedule). The older schedule (until 28 February 2026) listed different figures; the separate course-specific Table E page still shows older-style figures for some courses, so confirm the course page. Skill order on the source is Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking. | 68 | 50 | 51 | 54 | 55 | policies.mq.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Selected clinical courses in medicine and health professions (Ahpra registration)Proficient EnglishApplies to tests from 1 March 2026 (Macquarie admission policy schedule). The older schedule (until 28 February 2026) listed different figures; the separate course-specific Table E page still shows older-style figures for some courses, so confirm the course page. Skill order on the source is Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking. The source notes additional criteria regarding test sitting may be required for some clinical courses. | 68 | 66 | 66 | 76 | 73 | policies.mq.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Selected courses with professional accreditation, accelerated or compressed courses, or courses with placementsProficient EnglishApplies to tests from 1 March 2026 (Macquarie admission policy schedule). The older schedule (until 28 February 2026) listed different figures; the separate course-specific Table E page still shows older-style figures for some courses, so confirm the course page. Skill order on the source is Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking. | 68 | 55 | 56 | 66 | 64 | policies.mq.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Foundation (46 overall, Listening 39, Reading 41, Speaking 38, Writing 40)
“Functional English 46 41 40 39 38 Standard Foundation Program”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Diploma (52 overall, Listening 46, Reading 47, Speaking 46, Writing 50)
“Vocational English 52 47 50 46 46 Intensive Program Diploma Masters Qualifying Program”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor's (60 overall, Listening 50, Reading 51, Speaking 54, Writing 55)
“Competent English 60 51 55 50 54 Most undergraduate or postgraduate courses”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (60 overall, Listening 50, Reading 51, Speaking 54, Writing 55)
“Competent English 60 51 55 50 54 Most undergraduate or postgraduate courses”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: All initial teacher education courses (76 overall, Listening 72, Reading 66, Speaking 88, Writing 73)
“Advanced English 76 66 73 72 88 All initial teacher education courses, in line with requirements for professional accreditation”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: MBA and related courses (68 overall, Listening 50, Reading 51, Speaking 54, Writing 55)
“Proficient English 68 51 55 50 54 MBA and related courses”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Selected clinical courses in medicine and health professions (Ahpra registration) (68 overall, Listening 66, Reading 66, Speaking 76, Writing 73)
“68 66 73 66 76 Selected clinical courses in medicine and health professions* where required for Ahpra professional accreditation”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Selected courses with professional accreditation, accelerated or compressed courses, or courses with placements (68 overall, Listening 55, Reading 56, Speaking 66, Writing 64)
“68 56 64 55 66 Selected courses where required for professional accreditation, or accelerated / compressed courses, or courses with placements”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Macquarie's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which Macquarie rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways Macquarie says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Applicants who do not meet the English requirement but meet academic entry may be issued a packaged offer that includes a Macquarie University College English Language Program. The Direct Entry Program (minimum Pass overall) leads to Competent English courses.
Official wording
“Direct Entry Program - Minimum grade of Pass in the Overall Score Most undergraduate or postgraduate courses”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Senior secondary or tertiary study taught and assessed solely in English in a listed country can meet Functional, Vocational or Competent English (at least two years senior secondary or one year full-time tertiary). India is not in the printed list of recognised countries; the university may still request a test.
Official wording
“Completion of at least two years of senior secondary or one year of full-time tertiary study in a recognised country or region.”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Test scores must be under two years old at course commencement; the best single result in that period is considered.
Official wording
“all English language test scores must be less than two years old at the date of course commencement”
From policies.mq.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- Most undergraduate and postgraduate courses use Competent English: PTE Academic 60 overall with listed minimum skill scores (from 1 March 2026).
- Teaching degrees need Advanced English (76 overall, speaking 88).
- Recognised-qualification waivers list does not name India.
What to practise for Macquarie
The highest single-skill minimum on this page is 88 in Speaking, set by the All initial teacher education courses row. Practise that first if it is also near your weakest score.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
PTE Academic is listed as an approved test. Figures come from the Macquarie Admission Policy Schedule 1 (policies.mq.edu.au); the main international English requirements page could not be fetched (Cloudflare block, direct, premium and JS routes all failed). Macquarie uses named levels (Functional, Vocational, Competent, Proficient, Advanced). The course-specific Table E page was fetched but shows older-style figures that conflict with the policy schedule for teaching courses, so it was not used for rows. No PTE Academic Online or UKVI note found. Scores must be less than two years old at course commencement.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Macquarie's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- Admission Policy Schedule 1: English language admission requirements (coursework) (policies.mq.edu.au)
- English language requirements (international) (mq.edu.au)
- Course-specific special English language requirements (mq.edu.au)
Independent study site, not affiliated with Macquarie University or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in Australia
- Western Sydney UniversityFrom 42 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of Technology SydneyFrom 58 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- The University of SydneyFrom 64 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of New South Wales (UNSW Sydney)From 64 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Edith Cowan UniversityFrom 52 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for Australia
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.