PTE score for Queensland University of Technology
Queensland University of Technology asks for a PTE Academic score of 58 overall (no skill below 50) for master's degrees and 58 overall for PhD study. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 2 sourced requirements
- Brisbane, Australia
QUT PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Each skill at least | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Master'sMost postgraduate courses; some courses list higher requirements on their course requirements tabPage lists the test as 'PTE' without naming the version. Test must have been completed within 2 years prior to the proposed course start month. Higher requirements shown on the course requirements tab. | 58 | 50 | qut.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| PhDResearch degrees (Master of Philosophy, Doctor of Philosophy, professional doctorates); course page may state moreOverall 58 for PTE Academic in the English test table. Sub-score cells extracted unreliably from the page, so sub-scores are not recorded; check the course page. | 58 | - | qut.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Master's (58 overall, no skill below 50)
“PTE: 58 or better overall with no sub-score below 50”
From qut.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: PhD (58 overall)
“PTE Academic | 58”
From qut.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet QUT's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which QUT rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways QUT says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Applicants whose previous studies were not completed in English, or were completed in a country where English is not the first language, must show English proficiency. QUT does not name India-specific waiver rules on the pages read.
Official wording
“If your previous studies were not completed in English, or were completed in a country where English is not the first language”
From qut.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- Postgraduate test must be taken within 2 years before the proposed course start month.
- Research applicants must meet English requirements before submitting an expression of interest.
What to practise for QUT
Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 50, set by the Master's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
PTE Academic is accepted for postgraduate and research entry. Undergraduate, foundation and course-specific (for example nursing, engineering) figures sit on JavaScript-driven course requirement tabs that could not be fetched, so no undergraduate row was recorded. A search-result snippet suggested a higher nursing requirement but it could not be read on the page and was not recorded.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what QUT's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- Postgraduate applying guide (English proficiency) (qut.edu.au)
- Research degrees: how to apply (qut.edu.au)
Independent study site, not affiliated with Queensland University of Technology or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in Australia
- Griffith UniversityFrom 55 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- The University of QueenslandFrom 64 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Curtin UniversityFrom 58 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Monash UniversityFrom 58 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Edith Cowan UniversityFrom 52 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for Australia
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.