PTE score for Swinburne University of Technology
Swinburne University of Technology asks for a PTE Academic score of 42 overall (no skill below 36) for foundation programmes, 50 overall (no skill below 42) for diploma programmes, 50 overall (no skill below 50) for bachelor's degrees, 58 overall (no skill below 50) for master's degrees, 58 overall (no skill below 50) for PhD study and 58 to 66 overall for specific programmes such as Bachelor of Nursing (earlier tests) / Master of Physiotherapy and Bachelor of Nursing (tests from 23 April 2026). These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 10 sourced requirements
- Melbourne, Australia
Swinburne PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Each skill at least | Listening | Reading | Speaking | Writing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FoundationSwinburne Foundation Program and UniLink diplomasTable 'TAFE and pathway courses'; also applies to UniLink diplomas. | 42 | 36 | - | - | - | - | swinburne.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| DiplomaUniLink Bridging Program; Certificates III and IV, Diplomas, Advanced Diplomas and Postgraduate Qualifying Program | 50 | 42 | - | - | - | - | swinburne.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor'sUndergraduate degrees other than the listed exceptionsPage also lists higher figures for exceptions (education, exercise and sport science, law, psychological sciences, psychology honours, professional degrees). | 50 | 50 | - | - | - | - | swinburne.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sPostgraduate courses by courseworkSame column covers postgraduate courses by research. | 58 | 50 | - | - | - | - | swinburne.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| PhDResearch degrees (PhD and other higher degrees by research), international applicantsAlternatives listed: IELTS, TOEFL, Swinburne EAP, or prior English-medium study. | 58 | 50 | - | - | - | - | swinburne.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor of Nursing (earlier tests) / Master of PhysiotherapyBachelor of Nursing (tests taken on or before 22 April 2026) and Master of PhysiotherapyOverall 66 shown for the column; page marks NMBA registration standard on test sittings. | 66 | - | 66 | 66 | 66 | 56 | swinburne.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor of Nursing (tests from 23 April 2026)Bachelor of Nursing (tests taken on or after 23 April 2026)NMBA registration standard applies. | 63 | - | 58 | 59 | 76 | 60 | swinburne.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master of Teaching (Secondary)Master of Teaching (Secondary)Page states 76 in speaking and listening; perSkill not split because wording is ambiguous with the 66 minimum. | 66 | 66 | - | - | - | - | swinburne.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Psychological Sciences (Hons) / Dietetics / Occupational TherapyBachelor of Psychological Sciences (Honours), Master of Dietetics, Master of Occupational TherapyColumn mapping read from the page table. | 66 | 66 | - | - | - | - | swinburne.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Undergraduate education, exercise and sport science, law, psychological sciences, professional degreesUndergraduate degrees in education, exercise and sport science, law, psychological sciences, psychology (honours) and professional degrees | 58 | 50 | - | - | - | - | swinburne.edu.auread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Foundation (42 overall, no skill below 36)
“PTE Academic 42 (no communicative skill less than 36)”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Diploma (50 overall, no skill below 42)
“PTE Academic 50 (no communicative skill less than 42)”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor's (50 overall, no skill below 50)
“50 No communicative skill less than 50”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (58 overall, no skill below 50)
“58 No communicative skill less than 50”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: PhD (58 overall, no skill below 50)
“a minimum Pearson (PTE) 58 (no communicative skills less than 50) no more than 24 months before submitting your application”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor of Nursing (earlier tests) / Master of Physiotherapy (66 overall, Listening 66, Reading 66, Speaking 66, Writing 56)
“Minimum score of 66 in listening, reading and speaking Minimum score of 56 in writing”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor of Nursing (tests from 23 April 2026) (63 overall, Listening 58, Reading 59, Speaking 76, Writing 60)
“Minimum score of 58 in listening, 59 in reading, 60 in writing and 76 in speaking”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master of Teaching (Secondary) (66 overall, no skill below 66)
“66 No communicative skill less than 66 (76 in speaking and listening)”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Psychological Sciences (Hons) / Dietetics / Occupational Therapy (66 overall, no skill below 66)
“66 No communicative skill less than 66”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Undergraduate education, exercise and sport science, law, psychological sciences, professional degrees (58 overall, no skill below 50)
“58 No communicative skill less than 50”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Swinburne's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which Swinburne rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways Swinburne says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Research applicants may instead satisfy English by completing Swinburne EAP 5 Advanced (overall 70%, all skills 65%).
Official wording
“satisfactory completion of Swinburne's English for Academic Purposes (EAP 5 Advanced level) with overall 70%, all skills 65%”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Research applicants may instead show 24 months full-time-equivalent formal study in English at AQF level 7 or above at an approved university within 60 months of applying.
Official wording
“successful completion of a total of 24 months (full time equivalent) of formal study where the language of instruction and assessment was English”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Swinburne offers ELICOS English courses that can help applicants meet the English requirement.
Official wording
“We also offer English language courses that can help you meet the English language requirement to study a course.”
From swinburne.edu.au, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- Most bachelor degrees need PTE Academic 50 with no skill below 50; postgraduate coursework needs 58 with no skill below 50.
What to practise for Swinburne
The highest single-skill minimum on this page is 76 in Speaking, set by the Bachelor of Nursing (tests from 23 April 2026) row. Practise that first if it is also near your weakest score.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
PTE Academic is listed in the course tables. The page says a course may also have the Pearson Test of English as an additional prerequisite. The research page says 'Pearson (PTE)' without naming the version.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Swinburne's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- International entry requirements (swinburne.edu.au)
- Research degree entry requirements (swinburne.edu.au)
Independent study site, not affiliated with Swinburne University of Technology or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in Australia
- Victoria UniversityFrom 46 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- RMIT UniversityFrom 42 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Monash UniversityFrom 58 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Flinders UniversityFrom 50 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Griffith UniversityFrom 55 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for Australia
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.