PTE score for Dalhousie University
Dalhousie University asks for a PTE Academic score of 65 overall (no skill below 54) for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 1 sourced requirement
- Halifax, Canada
Dalhousie PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Each skill at least | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Master'sFaculty of Graduate Studies minimum for graduate applicants who need to show English proficiency; individual programmes may require moreStated as the Faculty minimum for graduate admission in general; the page does not split masters from doctoral. Some programmes require higher scores. | 65 | 54 | dal.caread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Master's (65 overall, no skill below 54)
“Pearson English Test PTE Academic Minimum acceptable score: Overall score of 65 and nothing below 54”
From dal.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Dalhousie's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which Dalhousie rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways Dalhousie says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
The English test requirement can be waived if you completed your degree at a recognized university where English is the language of instruction, in a country where English is an official language. The waiver is requested during the application.
Official wording
“waived if you completed your degree at a recognized university where the language of instruction is English”
From dal.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Dalhousie's own English for Academic Purposes - Level 2 course is accepted as an alternative to a test, with an overall grade of A- in the course.
Official wording
“Minimum acceptable score: Overall grade of A- for the course.”
From dal.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- Graduate level: PTE Academic overall 65 with nothing below 54, as the Faculty of Graduate Studies minimum.
- Test scores are accepted up to two years after completion.
- Some graduate programmes ask for higher scores than the Faculty minimum.
What to practise for Dalhousie
Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 54, set by the Master's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
Only the Faculty of Graduate Studies page was read, so only the graduate minimum is recorded. Undergraduate requirements were not captured. The page says some graduate programmes require higher scores than the Faculty minimum; check the programme page.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Dalhousie's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
Independent study site, not affiliated with Dalhousie University or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in Canada
- Simon Fraser UniversityFrom 65 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of TorontoFrom 65 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of WaterlooFrom 63 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Brock UniversityFrom 58 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of CalgaryFrom 60 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for Canada
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.