PTE score for Maynooth University
Maynooth University asks for a PTE Academic score of 63 overall (no skill below 59) for bachelor's degrees and 63 overall (no skill below 59) for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 2 sourced requirements
- Maynooth, Ireland
Maynooth PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Each skill at least | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor'sUndergraduate applicants from outside the EU (column 'Undergraduate - Non EU'); one figure for all courses, no higher programme groups on the pagePage names the test 'Pearson Test of English'; the 59 applies to each item in the Communicative Skills section. | 63 | 59 | maynoothuniversity.ieread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sPostgraduate applicants, EU and non-EU (column 'Postgraduate - EU and Non-EU'); one figure for all programmesPage names the test 'Pearson Test of English'; the 59 applies to each item in the Communicative Skills section. | 63 | 59 | maynoothuniversity.ieread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Bachelor's (63 overall, no skill below 59)
“63 with no less than 59 for each item in the Communicative Skills section”
From maynoothuniversity.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (63 overall, no skill below 59)
“63 with no less than 59 for each item in the Communicative Skills section”
From maynoothuniversity.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Maynooth's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which Maynooth rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways Maynooth says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Applicants taught through English who completed their full bachelor's degree in Ireland, the UK, USA, Australia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Ghana or Canada may be exempt. India is not named. An English certificate may still be needed for Irish immigration visa purposes.
Official wording
“may be exempt from Maynooth Universities English language requirements - Ireland, the UK, USA, Australia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Ghana and Canada.”
From maynoothuniversity.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- The English certificate must have been issued within 2 years of the expected start date of the chosen programme.
- Duolingo English Test, IELTS Academic, TOEFL iBT and several other tests are also listed on the same page.
What to practise for Maynooth
Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 59, set by the Bachelor's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Not stated on the pages we checked |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
The official table lists the test only as 'Pearson Test of English' and does not say 'Academic'. It is not stated whether PTE Academic Online or PTE Academic UKVI are accepted. The page is headed 2027/2028 intake and says requirements are revised annually.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Maynooth's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- English language requirements (maynoothuniversity.ie)
Independent study site, not affiliated with Maynooth University or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in Ireland
- Dublin City UniversityFrom 63 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University College CorkFrom 63 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University College DublinFrom 63 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of GalwayFrom 63 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Technological University DublinFrom 65 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for Ireland
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.