PTE score for University of Galway
University of Galway asks for a PTE Academic score of 63 overall (no skill below 59) for bachelor's degrees and 65 overall (no skill below 61) for specific programmes such as Courses at the IELTS 7.0 band. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 2 sourced requirements
- Galway, Ireland
Galway PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Each skill at least | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor'sGeneral entry standard (IELTS 6.5 overall, 6.0 each) listed for Arts/Business/Law and Science/Engineering. The page does not split undergraduate and postgraduate.Page column: 'Comparable to IELTS 6.5 (with 6.0 in each test component)'. Programmes with stricter IELTS component rules are not mapped to PTE on the page. | 63 | 59 | universityofgalway.ieread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Courses at the IELTS 7.0 bandPage column 'Comparable to IELTS 7.0 (with 6.0 in each test component)'. The page does not say which programmes use it; its IELTS 7 programmes (e.g. nursing, some MAs) list 6.5 in each component, so confirm with the university.Published as 65 overall, no less than 61 in any one component. Course mapping is not explicit on the page. | 65 | 61 | universityofgalway.ieread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Bachelor's (63 overall, no skill below 59)
“Pearson PTE Academic 63overall; no less than 59 in any one component”
From universityofgalway.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Courses at the IELTS 7.0 band (65 overall, no skill below 61)
“65 overall; no less than 61 in any one component”
From universityofgalway.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Galway's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which Galway rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways Galway says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Alternative proof of English: a recognised secondary-level exam from a country where English is the main language, or a degree taught in English in a country where English is the national language and main language of instruction.
Official wording
“By completing a degree taught in English in a country where English is the national language and the main language of instruction.”
From universityofgalway.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.
University of Galway Pre-Sessional or Pre-Masters Programmes are accepted as proof of English with 70% overall and at least 65% in each module.
Official wording
“with an overall score of at least 70% and a minimum of 65% in each module.”
From universityofgalway.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.
India: Standard XII from the CBSE/CICSE/Karnataka/Maharashtra/Tamil Nadu/West Bengal boards is listed as a recognised English qualification (70% for the 6.5 band, 75%+ for the 7.0 band), with an official Digilocker verification document required.
Official wording
“India Standard XII (CBSE/CICSE/Karnataka/Maharashtra/Tamil Nadu/West Bengal boards)”
From universityofgalway.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.
The India Standard XII route is not accepted for students from a named list of states (including Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Bihar); those students must provide an alternative English language test.
Official wording
“We are not able to accept this qualification for students from Chandigarh, Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and Rajasthan”
From universityofgalway.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Foundation programmes (International Foundation Business Programme at Shannon College; NCUK International Foundation Year via Dublin International Foundation College) are offered to students with a conditional offer who do not meet the English requirements.
Official wording
“foundation programmes for students who do not currently meet the University's English language requirements.”
From universityofgalway.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.
What to practise for Galway
Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 61, set by the Courses at the IELTS 7.0 band row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
PTE Academic is listed in two columns on the page (comparable to IELTS 6.5 and IELTS 7.0). No PTE figure is given for 7.5 IELTS or 6.5-each-component programmes.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Galway's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- English language requirements (universityofgalway.ie)
Independent study site, not affiliated with University of Galway or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in Ireland
- Atlantic Technological UniversityFrom 51 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Dublin City UniversityFrom 63 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Maynooth UniversityFrom 63 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Technological University DublinFrom 65 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University College CorkFrom 63 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for Ireland
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.