pteexamprep

PTE score for University College Cork

University College Cork asks for a PTE Academic score of 63 overall (no skill below 59) for bachelor's degrees, 63 overall (no skill below 59) for master's degrees and 63 to 72 overall for specific programmes such as Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences and MSc Audiology. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 16 sourced requirements
  • Cork, Ireland

UCC PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallEach skill at leastSource
Bachelor'sUndergraduate degree programmes in the College of Arts, Celtic Studies and Social Sciences; College of Business and Law; College of Science, Engineering and Food ScienceThe page words the sub-score as 'each item in the Communicative Skills section'.6359ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
Bachelor'sCollege of Medicine and Health: all undergraduate programmes except Speech and Language Therapy6363ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sStandard postgraduate programmes for applicants whose first language is not English (programmes with a higher requirement are listed separately)Both test-centre and online versions are accepted, per the page.6359ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
Medical Imaging and Radiation SciencesPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'7272ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
MSc AudiologyPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'7263ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
MSc Diagnostic RadiographyPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'7272ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
MSc Human AnatomyPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'6363ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
MSc Human Nutrition & DieteticsPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'7263ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
MSc Marine BiologyPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'7263ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
MSc Nursing (Non-EU applicants)Postgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'6363ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
MSc PhysiotherapyPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'7263ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
MSc Radiation TherapyPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'7272ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
MSW Master of Social WorkPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'7272ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
Postgraduate Diploma in Public Health NursingPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'One section may be as low as 63; the other sections must be at least 72. minEach shows the standard 72.7272ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
Postgraduate Diploma in Social Work StudiesPostgraduate programme the university lists under 'Programmes with a Higher Minimum English Language Requirement'7272ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026
Speech and Language Therapy (undergraduate)Undergraduate Speech and Language Therapy7263ucc.ieread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Bachelor's (63 overall, no skill below 59)
“Minimum of 63 (with at least 59 for each item in the Communicative Skills section)”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Bachelor's (63 overall, no skill below 63)
“Minimum of 63 (with at least 63 for each item in the Communicative Skills section)”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (63 overall, no skill below 59)
“Minimum score of 63 with no section score below 59. Both Test Centre and Online versions are accepted.”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences (72 overall, no skill below 72)
“Minimum score of 72 with no section below 72”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: MSc Audiology (72 overall, no skill below 63)
“Minimum score of 72 with no section score below 63”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: MSc Diagnostic Radiography (72 overall, no skill below 72)
“Minimum score of 72 with no section score below 72.”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: MSc Human Anatomy (63 overall, no skill below 63)
“Minimum score of 63 with no section score below 63”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: MSc Human Nutrition & Dietetics (72 overall, no skill below 63)
“Minimum score of 72 with no section score below 63”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: MSc Marine Biology (72 overall, no skill below 63)
“Minimum score of 72 with no section score below 63”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: MSc Nursing (Non-EU applicants) (63 overall, no skill below 63)
“Minimum score of 63 with no section score below 63.”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: MSc Physiotherapy (72 overall, no skill below 63)
“Minimum score of 72 with no section score below 63”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: MSc Radiation Therapy (72 overall, no skill below 72)
“Minimum score of 72 with no section score below 72.”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: MSW Master of Social Work (72 overall, no skill below 72)
“Minimum score of 72 with no section below 72”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Postgraduate Diploma in Public Health Nursing (72 overall, no skill below 72)
“Minimum score of 72 with no section score below 72. However, one of the sections can be as low as 63.”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Postgraduate Diploma in Social Work Studies (72 overall, no skill below 72)
“Minimum score of 72 with no section below 72”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Speech and Language Therapy (undergraduate) (72 overall, no skill below 63)
“Speech and Language Therapy: Minimum of 72 (with at least 63 for each item in the Communicative Skills section)”

From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet UCC's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which UCC rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways UCC says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • Postgraduate: applicants from a country UCC deems majority English-speaking, or holding a level 8/9 qualification taught in such a country, are normally assumed to meet the language requirement. India is not on the page's list of majority English-speaking countries.

    Official wording
    “an undergraduate (level 8) or a postgraduate (level 8 or 9) qualification from a recognised institution that was taught in a country”

    From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Postgraduate: applicants with at least 2 years of relevant professional practice in English in an English-primary country may be deemed to meet the requirement, subject to a written piece and/or interview.

    Official wording
    “minimum of 2 years of professional practice (professional practice relevant to the postgraduate programme of study) working through the medium of English”

    From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Postgraduate research applicants on a programme of at least 2 years who narrowly miss the score may be admitted if they attend a UCC Language Centre course alongside the programme. For PTE: overall 63, one section may be as low as 51, others at least 59.

    Official wording
    “Minimum Score 63 One section score can be as low as 51. All other section scores must be at the standard minimum of 59.”

    From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • A pre-sessional at the UCC Language Centre is listed on the postgraduate page as an accepted alternative for meeting the requirement.

    Official wording
    “Successful completion of a Pre-sessional at the UCC Language Centre.”

    From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Undergraduate: the page points to 6-, 12- or 16-week pre-sessional programmes at the UCC Language Centre.

    Official wording
    “6-week, 12-week, or 16-week pre-sessional programme at UCC's Language Centre.”

    From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Undergraduate: school leaving or matriculation examination evidence is an alternative to a test, though higher levels may apply for matriculation or particular programmes. Check the page for which boards are listed.

    Official wording
    “through their school leaving examination or matriculation examination or by achieving the minimum standard”

    From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Undergraduate College of Medicine and Health: non-EU applicants may only use a short list of tests, including Pearson PTE Academic.

    Official wording
    “Pearson PTE Academic are the only English language proficiency tests accepted to satisfy the English language requirement”

    From ucc.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • Standard postgraduate entry: PTE 63 with no section below 59; a short list of health and social work programmes asks for 72.
  • Undergraduate: 63 with no communicative skill below 59 (Arts, Business, Science); health programmes 63 each; Speech and Language Therapy 72 with 63.
  • PTE scores must be from no more than two years before the programme starts; test-centre and online versions both accepted for postgraduate entry.

What to practise for UCC

Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 72, set by the Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot stated on the pages we checked
Score validity noted2 years

UCC names 'Pearson PTE' (undergraduate page: Pearson PTE Academic). Both test-centre and online versions are accepted for postgraduate entry. Visa applicants must also meet Irish immigration (INIS) English requirements. Postgraduate and undergraduate pages quote 'sections' / 'Communicative Skills items' without listing skill names; no per-skill figures are published. No Foundation or Diploma level row is published on these two pages.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what UCC's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with University College Cork or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All Ireland universities

Visa and route guides for Ireland

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.