PTE score for National College of Ireland
National College of Ireland asks for a PTE Academic score of 58 overall (no skill below 47) for bachelor's degrees, 58 to 66 overall for master's degrees (depending on the course) and 66 overall and Listening 58, Reading 58, Speaking 66, Writing 58 (no skill below 58) for specific programmes such as BA (Hons) in Early Childhood Education and Care and MSc in AI for Business. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 6 sourced requirements
- Dublin, Ireland
NCI PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Each skill at least | Listening | Reading | Speaking | Writing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor'sSchool of Business and Social Sciences undergraduate programmes, except BA (Hons) in Early Childhood Education and Care | 58 | 47 | - | - | - | - | ncirl.ieread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor'sSchool of Computing undergraduate programmes, including Higher DiplomaHigher Diploma is listed together with the undergraduate programmes. | 58 | 47 | - | - | - | - | ncirl.ieread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sSchool of Computing master programmes, except MSc in AI for Business | 58 | 47 | - | - | - | - | ncirl.ieread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sSchool of Business and Social Sciences master programmes | 66 | 58 | - | - | - | - | ncirl.ieread 13 Oct 2026 |
| BA (Hons) in Early Childhood Education and CareHigher requirement with a separate speaking minimumOverall 66 with 66 in speaking and no less than 58 in each skill. | 66 | 58 | 58 | 58 | 66 | 58 | ncirl.ieread 13 Oct 2026 |
| MSc in AI for BusinessHigher requirement than other School of Computing masters | 66 | 58 | - | - | - | - | ncirl.ieread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Bachelor's (58 overall, no skill below 47)
“PTE Academic 58 overall, with no less than 47 in each skill”
From ncirl.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor's (58 overall, no skill below 47)
“PTE Academic 58 overall, with no less than 47 in each skill”
From ncirl.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (58 overall, no skill below 47)
“PTE Academic 58 overall, with no less than 47 in each skill”
From ncirl.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (66 overall, no skill below 58)
“PTE Academic 66 overall, with no less than 58 in each skill”
From ncirl.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: BA (Hons) in Early Childhood Education and Care (66 overall, Listening 58, Reading 58, Speaking 66, Writing 58, no skill below 58)
“PTE Academic 66 overall, with 66 in speaking and no less than 58 in each skill”
From ncirl.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: MSc in AI for Business (66 overall, no skill below 58)
“PTE Academic 66 overall, with no less than 58 in each skill”
From ncirl.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet NCI's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which NCI rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways NCI says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Applicants taught and examined in English for their full degree in Ireland, the UK, the US, Canada, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Ghana, Nigeria or South Africa are exempt from NCI's English requirement; India is not named. A certificate may still be needed for Irish visa purposes.
Official wording
“taught and examined through the medium of English for their full degree in the following countries are exempt”
From ncirl.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.
What to practise for NCI
The highest single-skill minimum on this page is 66 in Speaking, set by the BA (Hons) in Early Childhood Education and Care row. Practise that first if it is also near your weakest score.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
PTE Academic is listed among accepted tests. The page does not mention PTE Academic Online, PTE Core or how scores are sent. Requirements are stated to be subject to change from intake to intake.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what NCI's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
Independent study site, not affiliated with National College of Ireland or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in Ireland
- Trinity College Dublin, The University of DublinFrom 45 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Dublin City UniversityFrom 63 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University College DublinFrom 63 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Technological University DublinFrom 65 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of LimerickFrom 61 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for Ireland
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.