pteexamprep

PTE score for Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin asks for a PTE Academic score of 45 to 59 overall for foundation programmes (depending on the course), 59 to 69 overall for diploma programmes (depending on the course), 69 to 75 overall for bachelor's degrees (depending on the course) and 69 to 75 overall for master's degrees (depending on the course). These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 8 sourced requirements
  • Dublin, Ireland

Trinity PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallEach skill at leastSource
FoundationInternational Foundation Programme, progressing to a Band B course (Band A, pre-sessional entry 1)Per-section minimum stated as 40 in each section.4540tcd.ieread 13 Oct 2026
FoundationInternational Foundation Programme, progressing to a Band C course (Band A, pre-sessional entry 2)5950tcd.ieread 13 Oct 2026
DiplomaCELLT Pre-Sessional Summer Programme entry (Band A, pre-sessional entry 3)Entry to the pre-sessional itself, not to a degree.5950tcd.ieread 13 Oct 2026
DiplomaCELLT Pre-Sessional Summer Programme for applicants with an offer on a course needing IELTS 7.0 (entry 4)Entry to the pre-sessional itself, not to a degree.6959tcd.ieread 13 Oct 2026
Bachelor'sUndergraduate courses on standard entry (Band B)Overall taken from the bands table (69); the running text of the policy shows a typo ('6369').6959tcd.ieread 13 Oct 2026
Bachelor'sUndergraduate courses assigned the higher entry band (Band C)Course page states which band applies.7569tcd.ieread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sPostgraduate courses on standard entry (Band B)Same band as undergraduate standard entry.6959tcd.ieread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sPostgraduate courses assigned the higher entry band (Band C)Course page states which band applies.7569tcd.ieread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Foundation (45 overall, no skill below 40)
“Pearson English International Certification Minimum overall score of 45, each section score of 40”

From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Foundation (59 overall, no skill below 50)
“Pearson English International Certification Minimum overall score of 59, each section score of 50 or better”

From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Diploma (59 overall, no skill below 50)
“Pearson English International Certification Minimum overall score of 59, each section score of 50”

From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Diploma (69 overall, no skill below 59)
“Pearson English International Certification Minimum overall score of 69, each section score of 59”

From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Bachelor's (69 overall, no skill below 59)
“UG & PG Standard requirements 69 overall 59 in each section”

From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Bachelor's (75 overall, no skill below 69)
“Band C (Higher Entry): Minimum overall score of 75, no section scores below 69.”

From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (69 overall, no skill below 59)
“UG & PG Standard requirements 69 overall 59 in each section”

From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (75 overall, no skill below 69)
“Band C (Higher Entry): Minimum overall score of 75, no section scores below 69.”

From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Trinity's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which Trinity rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways Trinity says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • Postgraduate applicants whose previous degree was taught wholly in English may request an exemption from the English test through the course director; a formal letter from the awarding institution is required.

    Official wording
    “Applicants for postgraduate courses who have completed a primary degree through the medium of English may request an exemption”

    From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Test scores must be dated within two years before the course start.

    Official wording
    “English language proficiency tests scores must be dated within two years prior to the start of your course.”

    From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • International Foundation Programme and Pre-Sessional Summer Programme provide routes for applicants below the Band B or Band C scores, at the lower PTE Academic thresholds recorded in the rows.

    Official wording
    “Pearson English International Certification Minimum overall score of 59, each section score of 50 or better”

    From tcd.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • Two bands only: Band B (69 overall, 59 each) and Band C (75 overall, 69 each); the course page names the band.
  • The policy (version 1.1, issued 29 August 2025) lists PTE Academic as 'Pearson English International Certification' among accepted tests.

What to practise for Trinity

Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 69, set by the Bachelor's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot stated on the pages we checked
Score validity noted2 years

PTE Academic (listed as Pearson English International Certification) accepted. Each course is assigned Band B or Band C; the course page states which. Policy text shows '6369' for Band B overall; the bands table says 69.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Trinity's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All Ireland universities

Visa and route guides for Ireland

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.