pteexamprep

PTE score for University of Limerick

University of Limerick asks for a PTE Academic score of 61 overall (no skill below 59) for master's degrees and 61 overall (no skill below 59) for PhD study. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 2 sourced requirements
  • Limerick, Ireland

UL PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallEach skill at leastSource
Master'sTaught postgraduate programmes (standard requirement; some programmes may set higher)Listed on the page under requirements for taught postgraduate and research programmes.6159ul.ieread 13 Oct 2026
PhDResearch programmesSame table covers taught postgraduate and research programmes.6159ul.ieread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Master's (61 overall, no skill below 59)
“A minimum score of 61 (with no section score below 59)”

From ul.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: PhD (61 overall, no skill below 59)
“A minimum score of 61 (with no section score below 59)”

From ul.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet UL's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which UL rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways UL says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • Completing 2+ years of bachelor study, or an entire degree/PG Diploma/Masters, taught in English in a country where English is the official language of instruction meets the requirement.

    Official wording
    “Applicants who complete 2+ years of Bachelor Degree study (or complete an entire Degree course/PG Diploma/Masters course) through English”

    From ul.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • English-medium study in a country where English is not the official language does not automatically qualify; normal requirements usually apply unless the Faculty accepts the current level. A study visa still needs evidence of English competency.

    Official wording
    “do not automatically meet the University’s English language requirements and in most cases the normal English language requirements apply”

    From ul.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Offer holders who do not meet the English requirements can study pre-sessional English classes at the UL Language Centre on campus.

    Official wording
    “offer holders who do not meet the English language requirements above, can if they wish study pre-sessional English language classes”

    From ul.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Applicants who have lived and worked full-time in Ireland for 2+ years are listed among the English language requirement waivers.

    Official wording
    “Applicants who have lived and worked full-time in Ireland 2+ years.”

    From ul.ie, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • English language certificate must be dated within the last two years.
  • The same list accepts IELTS (Academic only) at 6.5 overall with no less than 6.0 in any component; some programmes have a higher IELTS requirement.

What to practise for UL

Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 59, set by the Master's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot stated on the pages we checked
Score validity noted2 years

The page lists PTE Academic in its table of acceptable tests for taught postgraduate and research programmes. It publishes no separate PTE figure for undergraduate entry and no programme-specific PTE figures; it says some programmes have a higher requirement (stated for IELTS only). It does not mention PTE Academic Online, PTE Core or UKVI.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what UL's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with University of Limerick or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All Ireland universities

Visa and route guides for Ireland

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.