PTE score for Te Herenga Waka - Victoria University of Wellington
Te Herenga Waka - Victoria University of Wellington asks for a PTE Academic score of 50 overall (no skill below 42) for bachelor's degrees, 58 overall (no skill below 50) for master's degrees and 65 to 76 overall for specific programmes such as Master of Laws and PhD in Linguistics/Applied Linguistics. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 4 sourced requirements
- Wellington, New Zealand
Victoria Wellington PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Each skill at least | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor'sMost undergraduate programmes (international applicants)Page words the second figure as a Communication score no lower than 42. | 50 | 42 | wgtn.ac.nzread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sMost postgraduate programmes, Honours year and above (international applicants)Page words the second figure as a Communication score no lower than 50. The PhD-only IELTS line is separate; the PTE line is listed for postgraduate study generally. | 58 | 50 | wgtn.ac.nzread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master of LawsMaster of Laws applicantsPage words the second figure as 'no communicative skills score below 58'. | 65 | 58 | wgtn.ac.nzread 13 Oct 2026 |
| PhD in Linguistics/Applied LinguisticsPhD applicants in Linguistics/Applied LinguisticsPage words the second figure as 'no communicative skills score below 70'. The PhD in Law and PhD in Education lists on the same page show no PTE option. | 76 | 70 | wgtn.ac.nzread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Bachelor's (50 overall, no skill below 42)
“Score of 50, with a Communication score no lower than 42”
From wgtn.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (58 overall, no skill below 50)
“Score of 58, with a Communication score no lower than 50”
From wgtn.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master of Laws (65 overall, no skill below 58)
“PTE overall score of 65 with no communicative skills score below 58”
From wgtn.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: PhD in Linguistics/Applied Linguistics (76 overall, no skill below 70)
“PTE overall score of 76 with no communicative skills score below 70”
From wgtn.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Victoria Wellington's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which Victoria Wellington rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways Victoria Wellington says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Applicants from India: completion of an entire undergraduate degree at one of the named Indian institutions (for example the IITs), taught entirely in English and completed no more than two years before application, may meet the postgraduate English requirement. Medium of instruction must be confirmed on the transcript or by a letter from the institution.
Official wording
“The study must have been undertaken no more than two years prior to the point of application”
From wgtn.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Undergraduate entry: Indian school boards can meet the English requirement without a test: CBSE, CISCE, or Maharashtra, Karnataka or West Bengal state board need a minimum of 65% in English; all other state boards need 70%.
Official wording
“Higher Secondary School Certificate issued by all other India State Boards: minimum of 70% in English.”
From wgtn.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Postgraduate: nationals of List A countries are generally exempt, and applicants who completed an entire degree in English in a List B country within two years may qualify. Otherwise case-by-case waivers are possible with documented evidence of strong English.
Official wording
“Waiver requests are assessed individually by the University on a case-by-case basis.”
From wgtn.ac.nz, read on 13 Oct 2026.
The university's own EAP final scores, NZCEL Level 5 (Academic) and NZAPA Level 3 (no skill lower than Level 2) are listed as alternatives to a test score for postgraduate entry.
What to practise for Victoria Wellington
Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 70, set by the PhD in Linguistics/Applied Linguistics row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
The pages say 'PTE (Pearson Test of English)' and do not name the Academic variant explicitly; it sits in the Academic-test tables beside IELTS (Academic). Wording used is 'Communication score'. Score validity period and how scores are sent are not stated on the pages read. Some health and education programmes have external English requirements on a separate list that was not read.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Victoria Wellington's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- Standard undergraduate English requirements (international) (wgtn.ac.nz)
- Standard postgraduate English requirements (international) (wgtn.ac.nz)
- Programmes with higher English requirements (wgtn.ac.nz)
Independent study site, not affiliated with Te Herenga Waka - Victoria University of Wellington or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in New Zealand
- University of AucklandFrom 50 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of OtagoFrom 50 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of CanterburyFrom 42 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Auckland University of TechnologyFrom 42 overall (Diploma) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of WaikatoFrom 42 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for New Zealand
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.