PTE score for McMaster University
McMaster University asks for a PTE Academic score of 40 overall for diploma programmes, 60 overall for bachelor's degrees and 60 overall and Listening 45, Reading 50, Speaking 45, Writing 55 for specific programmes such as Summer Transition through English Prep (STEP) certificate. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 3 sourced requirements
- Hamilton, Canada
McMaster PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Listening | Reading | Speaking | Writing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DiplomaMcMaster English Language Development (MELD) diploma, for applicants who miss the direct-entry score | 40 | - | - | - | - | future.mcmaster.caread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor'sDirect-entry undergraduate programmesMinimum of 60 applies to Writing and Speaking only; no minimum is published for Reading or Listening. | 60 | - | - | - | - | future.mcmaster.caread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Summer Transition through English Prep (STEP) certificateApplicants who almost meet the direct-entry score; conditional offer | 60 | 45 | 50 | 45 | 55 | future.mcmaster.caread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Diploma (40 overall)
“40 overall for MELD (McMaster English Development) Program”
From future.mcmaster.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor's (60 overall)
“60 overall with minimum score of 60 in Writing and Speaking; valid for 2 years”
From future.mcmaster.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Summer Transition through English Prep (STEP) certificate (60 overall, Listening 45, Reading 50, Speaking 45, Writing 55)
“60 overall for STEP with minimum score of 50 in Reading, 45 in Listening, 45 Speaking, and 55 in Writing”
From future.mcmaster.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet McMaster's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which McMaster rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways McMaster says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Testing exemption is at the university's discretion and not automatic. One route is four years of full-time non-ESL study at an accredited English-medium secondary school or college immediately before the start date. No India-specific or board-specific rule is named.
Official wording
“an accredited English medium Secondary School (High School) or Post-Secondary College for at least four years immediately prior to your anticipated start date”
From future.mcmaster.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Another exemption route is at least one year of full-time non-ESL study at an accredited English-medium university immediately before the start date.
Official wording
“an accredited English medium University for at least one year immediately prior to your anticipated start date at McMaster”
From future.mcmaster.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Applicants who meet academic requirements but not the English score may get an offer conditional on completing the MELD diploma.
Official wording
“you may still qualify for an offer of admission that is conditional upon the successful completion of the MELD program”
From future.mcmaster.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Applicants who almost meet the score may get a conditional offer on completing the STEP bridging certificate.
Official wording
“you may still qualify for a conditional offer of admission upon the successful completion of the STEP program”
From future.mcmaster.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.
What to practise for McMaster
The highest single-skill minimum on this page is 55 in Writing, set by the Summer Transition through English Prep (STEP) certificate row. Practise that first if it is also near your weakest score.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
Undergraduate page lists PTE Academic. Graduate programmes are governed by the School of Graduate Studies, whose page was not fetched, so no postgraduate row is recorded. The page names no PTE Core and no PTE Academic Online rule.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what McMaster's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- English proficiency (undergraduate admissions) (future.mcmaster.ca)
Independent study site, not affiliated with McMaster University or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in Canada
- Concordia UniversityFrom 50 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- The University of British ColumbiaFrom 60 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Fanshawe CollegeFrom 53 overall (Diploma) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Douglas CollegeFrom 56 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Conestoga CollegeFrom 53 overall (Diploma) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for Canada
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.