pteexamprep

PTE score for The University of British Columbia

The University of British Columbia asks for a PTE Academic score of 60 to 65 overall for bachelor's degrees (depending on the course) and 48 overall and 43 in each skill for specific programmes such as Vantage College. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 3 sourced requirements
  • Vancouver, Canada

UBC PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallEach skill at leastListeningReadingSpeakingWritingSource
Bachelor'sEntry to the Conditional Admission Program (English Language Institute) for undergraduate applicants who exceed admission requirements but score below direct-entry minimumPathway minimum, not direct entry.605555555555vancouver.calendar.ubc.caread 13 Oct 2026
Bachelor'sUndergraduate admission, Vancouver campus (minimum competence for direct entry); the calendar says the score is the minimum on each part unless otherwise statedScores must come from a single sitting. Applicants for 2027/2028 Winter Session must submit test scores from January 1, 2025 onwards.656060606060you.ubc.caread 13 Oct 2026
Vantage CollegeApplicants to Vantage College (minimum competence for entry)484343434343vancouver.calendar.ubc.caread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Bachelor's (60 overall, 55 in each skill)
“Overall Score:60 | Reading: 55 | Listening: 55 | Writing: 55 | Speaking: 55”

From vancouver.calendar.ubc.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Bachelor's (65 overall, 60 in each skill)
“Overall: 65 Reading: 60 Listening: 60 Writing: 60 Speaking: 60”

From you.ubc.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Vantage College (48 overall, 43 in each skill)
“Overall Score: 48 | Reading: 43 | Listening: 43 | Writing: 43 | Speaking: 43”

From vancouver.calendar.ubc.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet UBC's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which UBC rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways UBC says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • Indian secondary school applicants (CBSE or CISCE, leading to the Indian SSC or ISC) can meet the English standard with at least 75% on the senior English subject, instead of a test.

    Official wording
    “You have achieved a minimum grade of 75% (Indian grading scale) on your senior English subject.”

    From you.ubc.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Four or more years immediately before UBC at an eligible international secondary school using English as the language of instruction (in a country where English is not the primary language) can meet the standard.

    Official wording
    “Attend four or more years at an eligible international secondary school that uses English as the language of instruction”

    From you.ubc.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Applicants who do not meet the English standard can submit a waiver request by February 15, emailed to the UBC ELAS waiver address with the required supporting documents.

    Official wording
    “Your waiver request must be submitted by February 15 and include:”

    From you.ubc.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Completing Level 600 and Level 650 of the UBC English Language Institute English for Academic Purposes program gives the UBC Certificate in English Language (CEL), which meets the standard.

    Official wording
    “Achieve a UBC Certificate in English Language or CEL by completing Level 600 and Level 650”

    From you.ubc.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • PTE Academic is accepted for undergraduate admission, Vancouver campus: 65 overall with 60 in each skill.
  • Tests taken more than two years before application are not considered.

What to practise for UBC

Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 60, set by the Bachelor's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot stated on the pages we checked
Score validity noted2 years

Both pages are about the undergraduate English Language Admission Standard (ELAS), Vancouver campus. Graduate (masters/PhD) and programme-specific figures were not captured from these pages. PTE Core was not mentioned on either page.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what UBC's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with The University of British Columbia or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All Canada universities

Visa and route guides for Canada

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.