pteexamprep

PTE score for Western University

Western University asks for a PTE Academic score of 39 to 58 overall for bachelor's degrees (depending on the course). These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 2 sourced requirements
  • London, Ontario, Canada

Western PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallEach skill at leastSource
Bachelor'sLower-score route: admission to the nine-week English Boost Program, followed by an undergraduate degreeAlso requires a minimum of 38 in reading and writing. Offered only if all other admission requirements are met; no separate application.3929welcome.uwo.caread 13 Oct 2026
Bachelor'sAdmission to an undergraduate degree (not Nursing)5856welcome.uwo.caread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Bachelor's (39 overall, no skill below 29)
“A minimum overall score of 39 A minimum of 38 in reading and writing A minimum of 29 in each section”

From welcome.uwo.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Bachelor's (58 overall, no skill below 56)
“A minimum overall score of 58 A minimum of 56 in each section”

From welcome.uwo.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Western's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which Western rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways Western says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • Waiver may be possible with four years of full-time English-medium secondary school, two years of an Ontario college in English, or one year of university in English, plus classes taught in English, academic courses and no ESL courses. Does not apply to Nursing. Requests are not guaranteed.

    Official wording
    “I attended four years of secondary school in English on a full-time basis”

    From welcome.uwo.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • English Boost Program: a nine-week summer programme before starting at Western, offered if test scores are close to but below the requirement and all other admission requirements are met.

    Official wording
    “Boost is a nine-week program you will complete in the summer before you start at Western.”

    From welcome.uwo.ca, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • Send PTE Academic scores electronically through your PTE account; the name and date of birth must match your OUAC application.
  • Scores can take at least two weeks to show as Received on Student Center.

What to practise for Western

Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 56, set by the Bachelor's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot stated on the pages we checked

Undergraduate page only (fall 2027 admission cycle). Scores sent electronically through the PTE account; tests written before 1 January 2025 are not accepted. Waiver conditions do not apply to Nursing. Graduate programmes not captured. No PTE Core or Academic Online statement on the page.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Western's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with Western University or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All Canada universities

Visa and route guides for Canada

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.