pteexamprep

PTE score for Aston University

Aston University asks for a PTE Academic score of 64 to 67 overall for bachelor's degrees (depending on the course), 64 to 67 overall for master's degrees (depending on the course), 67 overall and Listening 64, Reading 67, Speaking 64, Writing 67 for PhD study and 76 overall and 76 in each skill for specific programmes such as BSc Biochemistry, Neuroscience, Biology and Psychology and OSPAP (pharmacy). These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 16 sourced requirements
  • Birmingham, UK

Aston PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallEach skill at leastListeningReadingSpeakingWritingSource
Bachelor'sEngineering and Physical Sciences undergraduateFigures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.645959595959aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Bachelor'sSchool of Law and Social Sciences undergraduateFigures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.645959595959aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Bachelor'sAston Business School undergraduate (Years 1 and 2 entry)At most two skills may be 59; the other skills must be 64 or above. Figures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.6759----aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Bachelor'sHealth and Life Sciences undergraduate (except Aston Medical School)Figures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.676464646464aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sEngineering and Physical Sciences taught mastersFigures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.645959595959aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sAston Business School taught mastersOne skill may be 59; the others must be 64 or above. Figures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.6759----aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sEngineering and Physical Sciences - Engineering Systems and Management programmesFigures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.676464646464aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sHealth and Life Sciences taught mastersFigures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.676464646464aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sSchool of Law and Social Sciences taught mastersOne skill may be 59; the others must be 64 or above.6759----aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
Master'sAston Business School MBAOne skill may be 59; the others must be 64 or above.6759----aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
PhDAston Business School postgraduate researchFigures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.67-64676467aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
PhDEngineering and Physical Sciences postgraduate researchFigures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.676464646464aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
PhDHealth and Life Sciences postgraduate researchFigures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.676464646464aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
PhDSchool of Law and Social Sciences postgraduate researchFigures are from the Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores table (columns Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking, Overall); the page does not say PTE Academic UKVI explicitly.67-64676467aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
BSc Biochemistry, Neuroscience, Biology and PsychologyBSc Biochemistry, Neuroscience, Biology and Psychology (all)One skill may be at 42 and the others must be 50 or above; the page gives no overall figure in this footnote. Prefer the school row for the overall.-42----aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026
OSPAP (pharmacy)Health and Life Sciences - OSPAP (taught masters)Pharmacy overseas pharmacists' route; the page labels it OSPAP only.767676767676aston.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Bachelor's (64 overall, 59 in each skill)
“Engineering and Physical Sciences 59 59 59 59 64”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Bachelor's (64 overall, 59 in each skill)
“School of Law and Social Sciences 59 59 59 59 64”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Bachelor's (67 overall, no skill below 59)
“Aston Business School Two bands at 59 and other bands at 64 and above 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Bachelor's (67 overall, 64 in each skill)
“Health and Life Sciences (except Aston Medical School) 64 64 64 64 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (64 overall, 59 in each skill)
“Engineering and Physical Sciences 59 59 59 59 64”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (67 overall, no skill below 59)
“Aston Business School 1 band at 59 as a minimum. Other bands at 64 and above 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (67 overall, 64 in each skill)
“Engineering Systems and Management Programmes 64 64 64 64 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (67 overall, 64 in each skill)
“Health and Life Sciences 64 64 64 64 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (67 overall, no skill below 59)
“School of Law and Social Sciences 1 band at 59 as a minimum. Other bands at 64 and above 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: Master's (67 overall, no skill below 59)
“Aston Business School – MBA 1 band at 59 as a minimum. Other bands at 64 and above 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: PhD (67 overall, Listening 64, Reading 67, Speaking 64, Writing 67)
“Aston Business School 67 67 64 64 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: PhD (67 overall, 64 in each skill)
“Engineering and Physical Sciences 64 64 64 64 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: PhD (67 overall, 64 in each skill)
“Health and Life Sciences 64 64 64 64 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: PhD (67 overall, Listening 64, Reading 67, Speaking 64, Writing 67)
“School of Law and Social Sciences 67 67 64 64 67”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: BSc Biochemistry, Neuroscience, Biology and Psychology (no skill below 42)
“one band is at 42 and the others at 50 and above”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: OSPAP (pharmacy) (76 overall, 76 in each skill)
“Health and Life Sciences – OSPAP 76 76 76 76 76”

From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Aston's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which Aston rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways Aston says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • Applicants with a UK-honours-equivalent degree from India (also Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Sri Lanka) may skip an English test with a wet-stamped Medium of Instruction letter, valid if three years or less passed since last semester, plus specified school grades. Postgraduate Taught only.

    Official wording
    “you will not need to provide additional English language qualifications such as IELTS or other tests.”

    From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Indian school-grade condition for that route: CBSE/ISC English 65%-74% in Standard XII, or State Board/NIOS English 70%-79% in Standard XII.

    Official wording
    “CBSE/ISC English grade between 65% - 74% in Standard XII OR”

    From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Tests must be taken within 2 years of the course start date.

    Official wording
    “Tests must be taken within the last 2 years from the start date of the course you are applying to study at Aston University.”

    From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Applicants who fall short can take Pre-sessional English Language programmes.

    Official wording
    “we provide a range of Pre-sessional English Language programmes”

    From aston.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • Pearson (PTE) is listed as an accepted test; scores must be within 2 years of course start.

What to practise for Aston

Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 76, set by the OSPAP (pharmacy) row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot stated on the pages we checked
Score validity noted2 years

Page lists 'Pearson Academic (PTE)' as accepted and gives a 'Main Entry Pearson Minimum Band Scores' table. It does not name PTE Academic UKVI, PTE Core, or PTE Academic Online, or how scores are sent. Aston Medical School shows N/A for Pearson at undergraduate level. Table quotes are flattened cell text.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Aston's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with Aston University or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All United Kingdom universities

Visa and route guides for United Kingdom

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.