PTE score for Cardiff University
Cardiff University asks for a PTE Academic score of 69 to 76 overall for bachelor's degrees (depending on the course), 69 to 80 overall for master's degrees (depending on the course) and 69 to 76 overall for specific programmes such as Allied health (BSc) and Dental Science (BDS). These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 13 sourced requirements
- Cardiff, UK
Cardiff PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Each skill at least | Listening | Reading | Speaking | Writing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor'sUndergraduate entry where the English requirement is the equivalent of GCSE grade C/4 (standard minimum)Cardiff expresses this column as an acceptable alternative to GCSE grade C/4. | 69 | 59 | - | - | - | - | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor'sUndergraduate entry where the English requirement is the equivalent of GCSE grade B/6Cardiff expresses this column as an acceptable alternative to GCSE grade B/6. Check the course page to see which applies. | 76 | 62 | - | - | - | - | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sPostgraduate courses that Cardiff places at its IELTS 6.5 overall, 5.5 in each subskill level (the majority of applicants)Column headed 'Acceptable alternative to IELTS 6.5 with a minimum of 5.5 in each subskill'. The PTE figure is Cardiff's own published figure. | 69 | 59 | - | - | - | - | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sPostgraduate courses at Cardiff's IELTS 6.5 overall, 6.0 in each subskill levelColumn headed 'Acceptable alternative to IELTS 6.5 with a minimum of 6.0 in each subskill'. | 69 | 62 | - | - | - | - | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sPostgraduate courses at Cardiff's IELTS 7.0 overall, 6.0 in each subskill levelColumn headed 'Acceptable alternative to IELTS 7.0 overall with a minimum of 6.0 in each subskill'. | 76 | 62 | - | - | - | - | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sPostgraduate courses at Cardiff's IELTS 7.5 overall, 7.5 in each subskill levelColumn headed 'Acceptable alternative to IELTS 7.5 overall with a minimum of 7.5 in each subskill'. | 80 | 80 | - | - | - | - | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Allied health (BSc)BSc Diagnostic Radiography and Imaging, Occupational Therapy, Operating Department Practice, Physiotherapy, Radiotherapy and Oncology | 76 | 69 | - | - | - | - | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Dental Science (BDS)Bachelor of Dental ScienceSpeaking 76, all other communicative skills 69. | 76 | - | 69 | 69 | 76 | 69 | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| LLB LawUndergraduate LLB Law programmes | 69 | 62 | - | - | - | - | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Medical Pharmacology (BSc)BSc Medical Pharmacology | 76 | 62 | - | - | - | - | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Medicine (MBBCh)Undergraduate MBBCh MedicineSpeaking 76, all other communicative skills 69. | 76 | - | 69 | 69 | 76 | 69 | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Nursing and Midwifery (BSc)BSc Adult, Children's and Mental Health Nursing and BSc MidwiferyWriting 69, all other communicative skills 76. | 76 | - | 76 | 76 | 76 | 69 | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Pharmacy (MPharm)MPharm Pharmacy | 76 | 69 | - | - | - | - | cardiff.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Bachelor's (69 overall, no skill below 59)
“At least 69 overall with a minimum of 59 in all communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor's (76 overall, no skill below 62)
“At least 76 overall with a minimum of 62 in all communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (69 overall, no skill below 59)
“At least 69 overall with a minimum of 59 in all communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (69 overall, no skill below 62)
“At least 69 overall with a minimum of 62 in all communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (76 overall, no skill below 62)
“At least 76 overall with no less than 62 in all communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (80 overall, no skill below 80)
“At least 80 overall with no less than 80 in all communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Allied health (BSc) (76 overall, no skill below 69)
“At least 76 overall with a minimum of 69 in all communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Dental Science (BDS) (76 overall, Listening 69, Reading 69, Speaking 76, Writing 69)
“At least 76 overall with a minimum of 76 in speaking and a minimum of 69 in all other communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: LLB Law (69 overall, no skill below 62)
“At least 69 overall, with a minimum of 62 in all communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Medical Pharmacology (BSc) (76 overall, no skill below 62)
“At least 76 overall with a minimum of 62 in all communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Medicine (MBBCh) (76 overall, Listening 69, Reading 69, Speaking 76, Writing 69)
“At least 76 overall with a minimum of 76 in speaking and a minimum of 69 in all other communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Nursing and Midwifery (BSc) (76 overall, Listening 76, Reading 76, Speaking 76, Writing 69)
“At least 76 overall with a minimum of 69 in writing and a minimum of 76 in all other communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Pharmacy (MPharm) (76 overall, no skill below 69)
“At least 76 overall with a minimum of 69 in all communicative skills”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Cardiff's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which Cardiff rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways Cardiff says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Postgraduate: no further English evidence is asked for if you hold a full bachelor or higher degree taught in English and awarded by a UK institution (also some other degree routes). Vocational Law (excluding GDL) and clinical Dentistry programmes still require the programme-specific test.
Official wording
“you have obtained a full bachelor or higher degree which has been taught through the medium of English and awarded by a UK institution”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Postgraduate: Indian Standard XII English from a list of named boards (including CBSE and ICSE/ISC) is accepted as English evidence.
Official wording
“The Indian Standard XII English qualification from the following examination boards is accepted”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Undergraduate: Indian Standard XII English is accepted at stated grades (for example 70% in the general columns); Functional English and Standard XII English/HSC from Punjab, Gujarat or Haryana are not accepted.
Official wording
“Standard XII English and Higher Secondary English (HSC) from Punjab, Gujarat or Haryana states.”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Cardiff may make offers to attend pre-sessional English courses instead of or in addition to an English language test.
Official wording
“students may be made offers to attend pre-sessional English courses instead of or in addition to an English Language qualification or test”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Foundation courses, Pre-sessional English and English for University Study usually require IELTS for UKVI or Pearson Academic (UKVI).
Official wording
“you usually must take an IELTS for UK Visas and Immigration test or a Pearson Academic (UKVI) test”
From cardiff.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- PTE Academic is valid for two calendar years from the test date, per Cardiff.
- Standard postgraduate entry is 69 overall with 59 in each communicative skill; some courses need higher figures, so check the course page.
What to practise for Cardiff
Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 80, set by the Master's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
PTE Academic accepted with two calendar years validity. Foundation, Pre-sessional and EfUS courses usually need IELTS for UKVI or Pearson Academic (UKVI). The pages do not say whether PTE Academic (non-UKVI) meets UKVI for the Student visa on degree courses; check with Cardiff. Course-specific higher postgraduate requirements are set on course pages. PTE Core and Online not mentioned.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Cardiff's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- English language requirements (cardiff.ac.uk)
- Undergraduate English language requirements (cardiff.ac.uk)
- Postgraduate English language requirements (cardiff.ac.uk)
Independent study site, not affiliated with Cardiff University or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in the UK
- Aston UniversityFrom 64 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Queen Mary University of LondonFrom 55 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of GlasgowFrom 70 overall (PhD: English Language & Linguistics (PhD, MLitt, MPhil, MRes)) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of BirminghamFrom 59 overall (Foundation) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Lancaster UniversityFrom 58 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for United Kingdom
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.