PTE score for University of Birmingham
University of Birmingham asks for a PTE Academic score of 59 to 64 overall for foundation programmes (depending on the course), 64 to 76 overall for bachelor's degrees (depending on the course), 64 to 76 overall for master's degrees (depending on the course) and 67 overall for specific programmes such as Business, including Economics (undergraduate). These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 13 sourced requirements
- Birmingham, UK
Birmingham PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Each skill at least | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| FoundationOne-year foundation pathways (Birmingham International Academy), all except Law, English Literature, Medicine, Pharmacy, PhysiotherapyColumn is headed PTE Academic (UKVI); IELTS (UKVI) 5.5 overall with 5.0 each band. | 59 | 53 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| FoundationBachelor's degree with integrated foundation year (four-year programme) leading to Law or English LiteratureTable column headed PTE (Academic). | 64 | 59 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| FoundationOne-year foundation pathways leading to Law, English Literature or PhysiotherapyColumn headed PTE Academic (UKVI). | 64 | 59 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| FoundationOne-year foundation pathways leading to Medicine or PharmacyColumn headed PTE Academic (UKVI). | 64 | 64 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| FoundationBachelor's degree with integrated foundation year (four-year programme), all except Law and English LiteratureTable column headed PTE (Academic). | - | 59 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor'sGroup A courses, e.g. Computer Science, Engineering (most), Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, Biosciences, Geography | 64 | 59 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor'sGroup B courses, e.g. Law, Education, Psychology, Biomedical Science, English, History, Politics, Business and Economics (see Business note)Business School programmes have a separate higher-skill rule: PTE 67 overall with 67 in Writing and Speaking (see row ug-business). | 67 | 64 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor'sGroup C courses: Dental Hygiene and Therapy, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Social Work | 76 | 67 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Bachelor'sGroup D courses: Dentistry (BDS), Medicine (MBChB), NursingPage states 76 in all four skills. | 76 | 76 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sScience programmes (some programmes require higher or lower grades; see course page) | 64 | 59 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sArts, Business, Economics, Computer Science, International Business, Metallurgy and Materials, Dentistry, Education (taught), Engineering, Health Sciences, Law (LLM), Medicine, Social SciencesSome Business programmes require higher grades per the Business School website. | 67 | 64 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sClinPsyD, Education (research), Management | 76 | 67 | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Business, including Economics (undergraduate)Business School undergraduate programmes (Group B listing)Minimum of 67 in Writing and Speaking; Reading and Listening minimum not stated for PTE in this sentence. | 67 | - | birmingham.ac.ukread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Foundation (59 overall, no skill below 53)
“59 with no less than 53 in all skills”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Foundation (64 overall, no skill below 59)
“A minimum of 64 with no less than 59 in all skills”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Foundation (64 overall, no skill below 59)
“64 with no less than 59 in all skills”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Foundation (64 overall, no skill below 64)
“64 with no less than 64 in all skills”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Foundation (no skill below 59)
“A minimum of 59 in all skills”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor's (64 overall, no skill below 59)
“PTE 64 with no less than 59 in all four skills.”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor's (67 overall, no skill below 64)
“PTE 67 with no less than 64 in all four skills.”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor's (76 overall, no skill below 67)
“PTE 76 with no less than 67 in all four skills.”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Bachelor's (76 overall, no skill below 76)
“PTE 76 in all four skills.”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (64 overall, no skill below 59)
“PTE Academic 64 with no less than 59 in all four skills”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (67 overall, no skill below 64)
“PTE Academic 67 with no less than 64 in all four skills”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (76 overall, no skill below 67)
“PTE Academic 76 with no less than 67 in all four skills”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Business, including Economics (undergraduate) (67 overall)
“a Pearson Test of English score of 67 overall, with 67 in Writing and Speaking”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Birmingham's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which Birmingham rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways Birmingham says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Postgraduate: applicants instructed and assessed in English at a recognised institution may be exempt from the English requirements.
Official wording
“If you have been instructed and assessed in English language at a recognised institution, you may be exempt from these requirements.”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Postgraduate: Indian Standard XII (CBSE/CISCE/West Bengal) at 75% or above, or other state boards at 80% or above, is listed as an alternative qualification; actual percentage depends on the programme's IELTS-equivalent band.
Official wording
“India Standard XII (CBSE/CISCE/West Bengal) 75% or above*”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Postgraduate: University of Birmingham pre-sessional English course is accepted as an alternative; pass required.
Official wording
“you can take one of our pre-sessional English language courses”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Undergraduate: Indian Standard XII percentage thresholds (varying by board and by the IELTS-equivalent group) can meet the English requirement.
Official wording
“IELTS 6.0 with no less than 5.5 in any bands: 70% in ISC, CBSE, Maharashtra or West Bengal, 75% in Other state boards”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Undergraduate: pre-sessional English courses are offered all year round as an alternative to retaking an English test.
Official wording
“You can take a Presessional English course as an alternative to retaking IELTS or a similar qualification.”
From birmingham.ac.uk, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- Tests normally must be no more than two years old at programme start.
- Undergraduate courses are sorted into Groups A to D; PG into three subject bands.
- Some degree programmes have higher requirements than the university minimum; check the offer letter.
What to practise for Birmingham
Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 76, set by the Bachelor's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Accepted |
| PTE Core | Not accepted |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
PTE Academic and PTE Academic Online are accepted (2026 entry). Foundation table headed PTE Academic (UKVI). Only the most recent test score is accepted. PTE Core not listed. Score-sending method not stated on the pages read.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Birmingham's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- Undergraduate international entry requirements (birmingham.ac.uk)
- Postgraduate taught international entry requirements (birmingham.ac.uk)
Independent study site, not affiliated with University of Birmingham or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in the UK
- Aston UniversityFrom 64 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of GlasgowFrom 70 overall (PhD: English Language & Linguistics (PhD, MLitt, MPhil, MRes)) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Lancaster UniversityFrom 58 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of AberdeenFrom 59 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of WarwickFrom 60 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for United Kingdom
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.