pteexamprep

PTE score for Michigan State University

Michigan State University asks for a PTE Academic score of 53 overall and Listening 51, Reading 51, Speaking 51, Writing 59 (no skill below 51) for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 1 sourced requirement
  • East Lansing, USA

MSU PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallEach skill at leastListeningReadingSpeakingWritingSource
Master'sGraduate applicants (university minimum for regular admission); departments may require moreRegular admission. Provisional admission: average overall score at least 48. Provisionally admitted students take the MSU English Language Test on arrival.535151515159grad.msu.eduread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Master's (53 overall, Listening 51, Reading 51, Speaking 51, Writing 59, no skill below 51)
“Minimum Overall Score of 53 No subscore below 51 for reading, listening, and speaking No writing subscore below 59.”

From grad.msu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet MSU's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which MSU rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways MSU says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • Automatic waiver from the Office of Admissions for a bachelor's degree earned in the U.S. or another English-speaking country (regular 4-year degree, majority of credits there, not 100% online, not at a branch campus in a non-English-speaking country).

    Official wording
    “Bachelor's degree earned in the U.S. (or other English-speaking country).”

    From grad.msu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Automatic waiver for a master's degree completed on a U.S. campus of an AAU member institution; in-progress degrees do not qualify.

    Official wording
    “Master's degree earned at an AAU institution (see https://www.aau.edu/who-we-are/our-members ) on a U.S. campus. In-progress degrees do not qualify.”

    From grad.msu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • Provisional admission continues until the university minimum is met; provisionally admitted students take the MSU English Language Test on arrival. Non-automatic waivers are requested by the department, not the applicant.

    Official wording
    “Provisional admission status will continue until university minimum language proficiency requirements for English (regular admission proficiency) are attained.”

    From grad.msu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • Applicants should have PTE scores sent from the testing agency directly to Michigan State University.
  • Some graduate departments require higher English proficiency scores than the university minimum; check with the department.

What to practise for MSU

The highest single-skill minimum on this page is 59 in Writing, set by the Master's row. Practise that first if it is also near your weakest score.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot stated on the pages we checked

Only the Graduate School page was read; undergraduate requirements were not fetched and are not recorded. Some graduate departments set higher scores than the university minimum. The page names PTE Academic (PTEA) but does not state a score validity period or a PTE Academic Online policy.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what MSU's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with Michigan State University or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All United States universities

Visa and route guides for United States

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.