PTE score for University of Cincinnati
University of Cincinnati asks for a PTE Academic score of 54 overall for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 1 sourced requirement
- Cincinnati, USA
UC PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Master'sGraduate applicants generally (university minimum; individual programmes may require more)Page names 'PTE' without naming the variant (Academic assumed, not stated). Some programmes have higher minimums; check the programme. | 54 | grad.uc.eduread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Master's (54 overall)
“PTE: minimum score of 54”
From grad.uc.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet UC's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which UC rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways UC says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Automatic waiver for applicants with a bachelor's or higher degree from a listed English-official country (India is not on the list).
Official wording
“international applicants will automatically be exempted from the English Proficiency testing requirement if they have received or will receive a bachelor's or higher degree”
From grad.uc.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Waiver may be requested after applying for a degree from an institution where all programmes are taught exclusively in English, with documentation.
Official wording
“Received or will receive a bachelor's or higher degree from an entirely English-instructing institution.”
From grad.uc.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Other waiver routes: a nationally administered professional English test (e.g. Cambridge C2 Proficiency, grade B or higher) or completion of ELS Level 112.
Official wording
“Completion of Level 112 of Intensive English instruction at an ELS Language Center.”
From grad.uc.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- Scores must be sent directly from the testing agency to UC; self-reported scores are not accepted.
- Use the same email for test registration and the application so scores match.
What to practise for UC
UC gives overall figures only on the rows above, so no single skill is singled out. Start with your lowest skill score on your latest report, because a strong skill cannot always cover a weak one.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Not stated on the pages we checked |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
Graduate page lists 'PTE' with a minimum of 54 without naming the variant; some programmes set higher minimums. Undergraduate requirements not captured. No per-skill minimum published.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what UC's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- Graduate admissions: English proficiency (grad.uc.edu)
Independent study site, not affiliated with University of Cincinnati or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in the USA
- Michigan State UniversityFrom 53 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Northeastern UniversityFrom 53 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Rutgers, The State University of New JerseyFrom 53 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University at Buffalo, State University of New YorkFrom 55 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of Massachusetts AmherstFrom 53 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for United States
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.