PTE score for University of South Florida
University of South Florida asks for a PTE Academic score of 53 overall for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 1 sourced requirement
- Tampa, USA
USF PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Master'sInternational graduate applicants from countries where English is not the official language; individual programmes may set their own requirementsOverall score only; no per-skill minimum published on this page. Scores must be earned within two years of the intended entry term. | 53 | usf.eduread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Master's (53 overall)
“Pearson Test of English Academic (PTE-A) 53 or higher”
From usf.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet USF's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which USF rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways USF says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Graduate applicants can waive the English requirement with a grade of B or higher in the equivalents of ENC 101 and ENC 102 at a U.S. regionally accredited institution; equivalency is at USF's discretion.
Official wording
“Successful completion with a grade of "B" or higher in the equivalents of ENC 101 and ENC 102”
From usf.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Applicants from countries where English is the official language (see USF's list of English-speaking countries) do not need to submit a test; the page tells applicants to check that list.
Official wording
“Look at the list of English-speaking countries to determine whether you must meet this requirement.”
From usf.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- Graduate: PTE Academic (PTE-A) 53 or higher is listed among accepted tests; scores must be within two years of entry term.
What to practise for USF
USF gives overall figures only on the rows above, so no single skill is singled out. Start with your lowest skill score on your latest report, because a strong skill cannot always cover a weak one.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
PTE Academic (listed as PTE-A) is listed on the international graduate page. No per-skill minimum shown. Undergraduate pages were not re-verified and are not covered.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what USF's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- International graduate academic requirements (usf.edu)
- International freshman academic requirements (usf.edu)
- International transfer requirements (usf.edu)
Independent study site, not affiliated with University of South Florida or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in the USA
- Michigan State UniversityFrom 53 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Northeastern UniversityFrom 53 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Rutgers, The State University of New JerseyFrom 53 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of Massachusetts AmherstFrom 53 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of CincinnatiFrom 54 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for United States
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.