PTE score for Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey asks for a PTE Academic score of 53 overall for bachelor's degrees and 53 overall for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 2 sourced requirements
- New Brunswick, USA
Rutgers PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor'sInternational undergraduate applicants at New Brunswick, Newark and Camden (Pharmacy and Nursing have higher minimums on other tests; no PTE figure stated for them)Overall score only; page lists the same figure for all three campuses. | 53 | admissions.rutgers.eduread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sRutgers-Camden graduate programmes (international applicants without an exemption)Overall score only on this page. | 53 | graduateschool.camden.rutgers.eduread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Bachelor's (53 overall)
“Pearson PTE 53 53 53”
From admissions.rutgers.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (53 overall)
“Pearson PTE Academic 53”
From graduateschool.camden.rutgers.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet Rutgers's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which Rutgers rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways Rutgers says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Rutgers Business School MITA: applicants from multi-official-language countries, including India, are not exempt from the English test. It can be waived for a degree from the US or another English-only country, or three or more years of full-time US work experience.
Official wording
“are not exempt from taking the exam.”
From business.rutgers.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Rutgers-Camden graduate: English scores are not required for applicants with a degree from an English-instruction institution, a US regionally accredited institution, or an English-speaking country.
Official wording
“English language scores are not required for applicants when applicants have been:”
From graduateschool.camden.rutgers.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- Camden graduate page: score reports must come from tests taken within the past two years and be sent directly from the testing service.
What to practise for Rutgers
Rutgers gives overall figures only on the rows above, so no single skill is singled out. Start with your lowest skill score on your latest report, because a strong skill cannot always cover a weak one.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
Undergraduate page lists one PTE figure (53) for New Brunswick, Newark and Camden, no per-skill minimums. Camden graduate score reports must be within two years. Other Rutgers graduate programmes may publish their own figures; not checked.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what Rutgers's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- International applicants (undergraduate English tests) (admissions.rutgers.edu)
- Rutgers-Camden graduate English proficiency requirements (graduateschool.camden.rutgers.edu)
- Rutgers Business School MITA international applicants (business.rutgers.edu)
Independent study site, not affiliated with Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in the USA
- Michigan State UniversityFrom 53 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Northeastern UniversityFrom 53 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of Massachusetts AmherstFrom 53 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of South FloridaFrom 53 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of CincinnatiFrom 54 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for United States
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.