PTE score for University at Buffalo, State University of New York
University at Buffalo, State University of New York asks for a PTE Academic score of 55 overall for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 1 sourced requirement
- Buffalo, USA
University at Buffalo PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Master'sGraduate applicants (university-wide minimum; also stated for graduate study generally, departments may set higher)Page states a university minimum for graduate admission without separating masters and doctoral levels. | 55 | buffalo.eduread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Master's (55 overall)
“Although departments may require higher scores, the university's official minimum score for the PTE is 55 (out of 90).”
From buffalo.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet University at Buffalo's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which University at Buffalo rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways University at Buffalo says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Citizens of listed English-medium countries who were educated in English are exempt; India is not in the list on the page. Academic programmes (not applicants) may petition for a waiver.
Official wording
“UB academic programs (the UB department, not the applicant/student) may petition the Office of International Admissions for an ELP waiver/exception.”
From buffalo.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Applicants wanting to improve their English may study at UB's English Language Institute.
Official wording
“International applicants who desire or need to improve their English language proficiency may do so through the university's English Language Institute.”
From buffalo.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
What to practise for University at Buffalo
University at Buffalo gives overall figures only on the rows above, so no single skill is singled out. Start with your lowest skill score on your latest report, because a strong skill cannot always cover a weak one.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
Graduate page accepts PTE Academic and PTE Academic Online. Scores must be sent directly to UB by the testing agency. Undergraduate page not located, so no undergraduate row; individual departments may require higher scores.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what University at Buffalo's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
Independent study site, not affiliated with University at Buffalo, State University of New York or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in the USA
- University of CincinnatiFrom 54 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Arizona State UniversityFrom 53 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Michigan State UniversityFrom 53 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- New Jersey Institute of TechnologyFrom 57 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Northeastern UniversityFrom 53 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for United States
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.