PTE score for Arizona State University
Arizona State University asks for a PTE Academic score of 53 overall for bachelor's degrees, 60 overall for master's degrees and 58 to 73 overall for specific programmes such as Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering (higher admission requirement programs, undergraduate) and Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication (higher admission requirement programs, undergraduate). These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 4 sourced requirements
- Tempe, USA
ASU PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor'sGeneral undergraduate (first-year) international applicantsOverall score only. PTE Academic Online not accepted. | 53 | admission.asu.eduread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Master'sGeneral graduate (international) applicants; some programs may have higher requirementsOverall score only. The graduate page states general university requirements and says individual programs may require more. PTE Academic Online not accepted. | 60 | admission.asu.eduread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering (higher admission requirement programs, undergraduate)Undergraduate engineering programs with higher admission requirements | 58 | admission.asu.eduread 13 Oct 2026 |
| Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication (higher admission requirement programs, undergraduate)Undergraduate Cronkite programs with higher admission requirements | 73 | admission.asu.eduread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Bachelor's (53 overall)
“ASU requires a score of at least 53. This test is not accepted for admission to the Bachelor of Science in Nursing program.”
From admission.asu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (60 overall)
“Score of at least 60. ASU does not accept the PTE Academic Online exam.”
From admission.asu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering (higher admission requirement programs, undergraduate) (58 overall)
“higher admission requirement programs only): minimum score of 58.”
From admission.asu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication (higher admission requirement programs, undergraduate) (73 overall)
“higher admission requirement programs only) : minimum score of 73.”
From admission.asu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet ASU's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which ASU rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways ASU says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
Graduate: an exemption can be requested with a Medium of Instruction form if you earned a bachelor's degree or higher from an international institution where English was the only language of instruction, supported by a letter from the institution or an official web link. Request only after applying.
Official wording
“Earned a bachelor’s degree or higher from an international institution where English was the only language of instruction.”
From admission.asu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Undergraduate: a medium-of-instruction exemption applies to a secondary school degree or diploma or higher from an officially recognised international institution whose sole medium of instruction was English.
Official wording
“sole medium of instruction for the degree program was in English.”
From admission.asu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Graduate and undergraduate: citizens of countries or territories on ASU's English Speaking Country and Territory List are automatically exempt. Check the list on ASU's site for your country.
Official wording
“A citizen of a country or territory on the ASU English Speaking Country and Territory List”
From admission.asu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Global Launch English programmes (online or campus) are an alternative to a test score at select graduate schools and for undergraduate entry; completion must be no more than two years before the ASU start date. Programme-level eligibility varies.
Official wording
“Select graduate schools accept completion of the Global Launch Online or Campus Immersion English Language program”
From admission.asu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- PTE Academic Online is not accepted at undergraduate or graduate level.
- Test scores must be from no more than two years before the ASU start date.
- PTE is not accepted for the Bachelor of Science in Nursing.
What to practise for ASU
ASU gives overall figures only on the rows above, so no single skill is singled out. Start with your lowest skill score on your latest report, because a strong skill cannot always cover a weak one.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
The pages say 'Pearson Test of English (PTE)' and exclude PTE Academic Online; read as PTE Academic. Overall score only, no per-skill minimum published. Some programmes set higher requirements.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what ASU's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- English proficiency: graduate (international) (admission.asu.edu)
- English proficiency: undergraduate (international) (admission.asu.edu)
Independent study site, not affiliated with Arizona State University or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in the USA
- New Jersey Institute of TechnologyFrom 57 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University at Buffalo, State University of New YorkFrom 55 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of CincinnatiFrom 54 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Michigan State UniversityFrom 53 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Northeastern UniversityFrom 53 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for United States
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.