PTE score for George Mason University
George Mason University asks for a PTE Academic score of 59 overall for bachelor's degrees and 67 overall for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 2 sourced requirements
- Fairfax, Virginia, USA
George Mason PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Bachelor's (59 overall)
“Pearson Test of Academic English | 59 | 67”
From gmu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Evidence: Master's (67 overall)
“Pearson Test of Academic English | 59 | 67”
From gmu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet George Mason's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which George Mason rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways George Mason says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
English test requirement waived for undergraduate applicants from a U.S. secondary school (all four years, college preparatory English with C or better).
Official wording
“will waive the English language proficiency test requirement for applicants who have completed one of the following”
From gmu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Undergraduate waiver for applicants from a secondary school in a listed waiver-eligible country with four years of English-medium instruction. India is not in the published country list.
Official wording
“graduated or will graduate from a secondary school in a waiver-eligible country (listed below) and have attended all four years”
From gmu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Graduate or undergraduate applicants with a bachelor's or higher degree from a recognised institution in the United States or a waiver-eligible country are waived. India is not in the published country list.
Official wording
“completed a bachelor’s degree or higher degree from a George Mason-recognized institution in the United States or a waiver-eligible country”
From gmu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Undergraduate waiver for IB or UK curriculum schools from Fall 2026 applicants, with four years of college preparatory English and grade C or higher.
Official wording
“IB or UK Curriculum (Starting for Fall 2026 applicants)”
From gmu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Undergraduate waiver for at least six college-level English Composition credits from a recognised US institution with C or better.
Official wording
“completed at least six (6) college-level English Composition credits from a George Mason-recognized accredited institution within the United States”
From gmu.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- PTE Academic is accepted: 59 overall for undergraduate, 67 for graduate.
- Exam scores older than two years are not accepted.
- India does not appear on the published waiver-eligible country list, so Indian applicants generally need a test unless another waiver applies.
What to practise for George Mason
George Mason gives overall figures only on the rows above, so no single skill is singled out. Start with your lowest skill score on your latest report, because a strong skill cannot always cover a weak one.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Score validity noted | 2 years |
The page lists Pearson Test of Academic English with overall minimums only (59 undergraduate, 67 graduate); no per-skill minimum is published for PTE. The page does not mention PTE Academic Online, how scores are sent, or PTE UKVI/Core.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what George Mason's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
- English language requirements (gmu.edu)
Independent study site, not affiliated with George Mason University or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in the USA
- University of Southern CaliforniaFrom 61 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- University of California San DiegoFrom 65 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- The University of Texas at DallasFrom 67 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Arizona State UniversityFrom 53 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- New Jersey Institute of TechnologyFrom 57 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for United States
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.