PTE score for University of California San Diego
University of California San Diego asks for a PTE Academic score of 65 overall for master's degrees. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.
- Checked 13 Oct 2026
- 1 sourced requirement
- La Jolla, San Diego, USA
UC San Diego PTE Academic requirements by level
Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Level or programme | Overall | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Master'sUniversity-wide minimum for graduate admission (applies to graduate applicants generally; some programmes set higher minimums)Overall score only; no per-skill minimum is stated on this page. Programmes may require more. | 65 | grad.ucsd.eduread 13 Oct 2026 |
Where each figure comes from
Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.
Evidence: Master's (65 overall)
“The minimum PTE Academic score required for graduate admission is Overall Score: 65.”
From grad.ucsd.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.
Does your score qualify?
Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet UC San Diego's figure and by how many points you miss it.
Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.
Enter your scores to see which UC San Diego rows you meet.
Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.
Waivers and English pathways
Ways UC San Diego says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.
International applicants may be exempt from the English proficiency requirement if they earned or will earn a bachelor, master or doctoral degree (grade B/3.0 or better) from a US regionally accredited institution, or a foreign institution, where English is the sole language of instruction as listed in the IAU WHED database.
Official wording
“International applicants may be exempt from this requirement if they have earned or will be earning a bachelor's, master's, or doctoral degree”
From grad.ucsd.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.
Good to know before you apply
- UC San Diego accepts PTE Academic for graduate admission and states it has no preference between the accepted English tests.
- Some academic programmes set higher minimum English scores than the university-wide figure, so check your programme page.
What to practise for UC San Diego
UC San Diego gives overall figures only on the rows above, so no single skill is singled out. Start with your lowest skill score on your latest report, because a strong skill cannot always cover a weak one.
Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts
| PTE Academic | Accepted |
|---|---|
| PTE Academic UKVI | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| PTE Core | Not stated on the pages we checked |
Graduate page only; undergraduate PTE policy not checked. Programmes may set higher minimums.
Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.
Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply
English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what UC San Diego's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:
Independent study site, not affiliated with University of California San Diego or Pearson. See how we check requirements.
Other universities in the USA
- University of Southern CaliforniaFrom 61 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- George Mason UniversityFrom 59 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- The University of Texas at DallasFrom 67 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- Arizona State UniversityFrom 53 overall (Bachelor's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
- New Jersey Institute of TechnologyFrom 57 overall (Master's) · checked 13 Oct 2026
Visa and route guides for United States
The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.