pteexamprep

PTE score for University of Southern California

University of Southern California asks for a PTE Academic score of 61 overall (no skill below 53) for master's degrees and 68 overall (no skill below 53) for PhD study. These figures were checked against the university's official pages on 13 October 2026; requirements vary by course and intake, so confirm yours on the programme page before you apply.

  • Checked 13 Oct 2026
  • 2 sourced requirements
  • Los Angeles, USA

USC PTE Academic requirements by level

Scores are on the PTE 10 to 90 scale. "Each skill at least" means Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing must each reach that figure, as well as the overall score. Where a row shows a figure for each skill, those are the minimums for that skill. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Level or programmeOverallEach skill at leastSource
Master'sGraduate master's degree programmes: scores that exempt an admitted student from the ISE examNot a university-wide admission minimum: USC says these scores are typically used for placement. Individual programmes may set higher minimums.6153gradadm.usc.eduread 13 Oct 2026
PhDGraduate PhD programmes: scores that exempt an admitted student from the ISE examNot a university-wide admission minimum: USC says these scores are typically used for placement. Individual programmes may set higher minimums.6853gradadm.usc.eduread 13 Oct 2026

Where each figure comes from

Open a row to read the exact line from the official page. Only rows we could match to an official page are shown; they were re-read independently on 13 October 2026.

Evidence: Master's (61 overall, no skill below 53)
“Master’s degree programs 61 or above, with 53 or above on each band.”

From gradadm.usc.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Evidence: PhD (68 overall, no skill below 53)
“PhD programs 68 or above, with 53 or above on each band.”

From gradadm.usc.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026. If the live page now says something different, the live page wins.

Does your score qualify?

Type the scores from your PTE Academic score report. You will see, row by row, whether you meet USC's figure and by how many points you miss it.

Enter the scores from your PTE Academic score report. Nothing is sent anywhere; the check runs in your browser.

Enter your scores to see which USC rows you meet.

Comparing several universities? Use the eligibility checker.

Waivers and English pathways

Ways USC says you may not need to submit a PTE score, or may reach the requirement another way.

  • International graduate applicants are exempt from submitting English-proficiency scores if they hold or are enrolled in a USC degree, hold a qualifying bachelor's degree from a US or other qualifying Anglophone country, or are native English speakers from countries where English is the only official language and the language of instruction.

    Official wording
    “English is both the language of instruction and the only official language.”

    From gradadm.usc.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • No waiver is given for work experience, ESL enrolment or time spent in the US, or for programmes taught in English in non-Anglophone countries.

    Official wording
    “It also cannot be waived on the basis of programs taught in English in non-Anglophone countries.”

    From gradadm.usc.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • USC does not accept superscoring: to meet the requirement, all subscores must come from the same test sitting.

    Official wording
    “all subscores must come from the same test sitting.”

    From gradadm.usc.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.

  • The USC International Academy is offered as an option for students wanting to prepare their English and academic skills for graduate study.

    Official wording
    “explore the USC International Academy as an option.”

    From gradadm.usc.edu, read on 13 Oct 2026.

Good to know before you apply

  • USC accepts PTE Academic and PTE Academic Online scores for graduate applications.
  • Scores must be dated within 2 years (24 months) of the date the graduate application is submitted.
  • Send scores by selecting University of Southern California when booking PTE Academic, or give the details to the test centre afterwards; USC must receive them electronically.

What to practise for USC

Every skill carries the same highest minimum on this page: 53, set by the Master's row. No single skill stands out, so start with your lowest skill score on your latest score report.

Which PTE test, and how long a score lasts

PTE AcademicAccepted
PTE Academic UKVINot stated on the pages we checked
PTE CoreNot stated on the pages we checked
Score validity noted2 years

Graduate admission page only (applications for Spring 2027 and later terms). USC states it sets no university-wide minimum for graduate admission; the PTE scores listed are typically used for placement, to decide whether an admitted student must take the International Student English (ISE) exam on arrival. Individual programmes may set higher minimums. Undergraduate requirements are not covered by this page.

Pearson's own rules on validity are in our PTE score validity guide. Compare tests in PTE Academic vs Core vs UKVI.

Confirm on the programme page before you book or apply

English requirements can differ by course, faculty and intake, and universities change them. These figures are what USC's pages said when we checked on 13 October 2026. A requirement that is not on this page may still exist for your course. The official pages we used:

Independent study site, not affiliated with University of Southern California or Pearson. See how we check requirements.

All United States universities

Visa and route guides for United States

The university score and the visa score are separate requirements. These guides cover the visa side.